Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Used raw shrimp and these were perfect. Cut in 1/2 thru cooking process to make sure they were done. Great with crab cakes and onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Tried for the first time , friends could not stop commenting that the taste is even better than the prawns prepared in a seafood restaurant.Did not change anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love this recipe, I did cut down on the water using only 1 cup, and I used seasoned bread crumbs. My picky kids ate every last one of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
The only reason this gets 4 stars is because the liquid stated in the recipe is a bit too much. I reduced it and only used 1C of water and 3/4C of cornstarch. I also used panko breadcrumbs instead of regular--there was also no need to double dip/coat the shrimp, they came out nicely coated the first time. Definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is a GREAT recipe, love the taste. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Wonderful. I have been searching for the perfect fried shrimp recipe. I will search no more. I agree way too much wash and way too thin. I cut the water down quite a bit. I added enough water to make the wash as thick as pancake syrup. It makes the bread crumbs cling to the shrimp better. I made fresh bread crumbs in my food chopper and tossed them in a little garlic powder and season salt. Then I lightly toasted them in the oven. Much better and cheaper than panko bread crumbs. I dipped the shrimp in the wash and rolled in the bread crumbs and into the fryer they went. My husband sayed it was the best fried shrimp he ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Love the lightness of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
THESE WERE AWESOME! Just be sure not to overcook them :-) Even still they are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This turned out excellent. I did exactly as the recipe calls for. Good with a Remoulade sauce on a poor boy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LordGary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maryland Heights, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Cut corn stach mixture in half at least. Very good and easy. Not too much coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States