Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
For some reason, this didn't turn out that good. The breading was coming off slightly and it didn't taste great. My husband didn't even eat all of the shrimp on his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This is just what I was looking for. My kids do not like my fried shrimp because they are too spicy. This is perfect for them. I did use seasoned bread crumbs to add a little flavor and added the 1/4 cup of corn meal. I also halved the water and cornstarch as suggested. You should also halve the bread crumb mixture. I did about 2 1/2 pounds of shrimp and had at least half of the bread crumb mixture left. Adults will probably find this recipe bland. Just add garlic powder and paprika to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I made the receipe as printed with one exception - I had no bread crumbs so instead, I used pep. farm stuffing mix (I grounded itin the food processor). My husband said it was the best fried shrimp he ever had! Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
In all the years I have been married, I had never fried shrimp at home. I am not a big shrimp eater but my husband is. I used this recipe including the comments (1/2 the water) and it was great. I used seasoned breadcrumbs on half of the shrimp then used the cajun fish fry on the remainder. WOW!!! My husband is already asking when am I going to make it again. He said that it is better than any fried shrimp he's ordered at the restaurants. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tennille Jacobs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greystone Park, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
So used the other suggestions and havled the cornstarch mixture but kept the eggs. My bf who is very very picky liked it alot and hs cousin as well but his brother claimed that it was awful ( I think he was trying to annoy me though). Anyhooo I als thought they were great and next time I'll get the shrimp already peeled, deveined and butterflied and the grocer's. That'll make it alot easier and faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I cut the cornstarch and water in half like everyone suggested. This was better than restaurant shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
My family is still talking about this one. I followed other suggestions about reducing water & cornstarch and adding pepper, season-all & garlic powder. This recipe will now replace my other batter recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Delicious! Added a little cajun spice to bread crumbs. The only fried shrimp recipe I use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
The first fried shrimp recipe my kids actually ate without complaint! My kids always pick the coating off of fried shrimp (they're weird; they don't know that the coating is the best part of fried shrimp) It was just a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States