Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I used 3/4 c. cornstarch, and water, 1 egg and about 1/2c flour, panko bread crumbs. OMG..........better than restaurant quality. I'd give them 6 * if I could
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Excellent recipe but next time i'm going to use panko crumbs the whole family just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Changed the recipe quite a bit based on suggestions by other reviewers. Cut water and cornstarch by more than half. Used slightly less than 2 cups breading and added garlic powder, salt, cayenne pepper and black pepper. Only coated shrimp once. I friend about 1.5 lbs of shrimp and still had plent of batter left. So I used the same batter and breading for chicken tenders. I still had plenty left. Both shrimp and chicken tenders turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Bit disappointed with this recipe. Loved the butterfly idea and the cornstarch coating, to which I only used two cups of water and one cup of cornstarch. If using fresh breadcrumbs, as the recipe states, they need to be highly seasoned (which I did) or they would be incredibly bland. Unfortunately, I don't think that fresh breadcrumbs are the way to go. I use fresh for many recipes, but I wish I had used either dry crumbs or panko. The shrimp weren't nearly as crispy as I would have liked them to be. Will try again though and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
For some reason, this didn't turn out that good. The breading was coming off slightly and it didn't taste great. My husband didn't even eat all of the shrimp on his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This is just what I was looking for. My kids do not like my fried shrimp because they are too spicy. This is perfect for them. I did use seasoned bread crumbs to add a little flavor and added the 1/4 cup of corn meal. I also halved the water and cornstarch as suggested. You should also halve the bread crumb mixture. I did about 2 1/2 pounds of shrimp and had at least half of the bread crumb mixture left. Adults will probably find this recipe bland. Just add garlic powder and paprika to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I made the receipe as printed with one exception - I had no bread crumbs so instead, I used pep. farm stuffing mix (I grounded itin the food processor). My husband said it was the best fried shrimp he ever had! Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
In all the years I have been married, I had never fried shrimp at home. I am not a big shrimp eater but my husband is. I used this recipe including the comments (1/2 the water) and it was great. I used seasoned breadcrumbs on half of the shrimp then used the cajun fish fry on the remainder. WOW!!! My husband is already asking when am I going to make it again. He said that it is better than any fried shrimp he's ordered at the restaurants. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tennille Jacobs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greystone Park, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
So used the other suggestions and havled the cornstarch mixture but kept the eggs. My bf who is very very picky liked it alot and hs cousin as well but his brother claimed that it was awful ( I think he was trying to annoy me though). Anyhooo I als thought they were great and next time I'll get the shrimp already peeled, deveined and butterflied and the grocer's. That'll make it alot easier and faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States