Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Very tasty! My boyfriend and I are addicted. I halved the liquid batter, but I still had a lot left. I used dried season breadcrumbs, like other have mentioned. The batter also works well with eggplant, chicken, and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This was SUPERB! I added the paprika and garlic sauce as suggested by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODGU1
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This was really great and so easy to make! My husband LOVES fried shrimp and was really impressed with this recipe. I used Progresso bread crumbs and next time will reduce the "batter" mixture by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Good recipe, but I had to make so many changes (using previous reviewers' suggestions) that I can't quite give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
This recipe was excellent. My family loved the breaded shrimp - it was nice and light. The batter didn't hold the grease and it tasted nice and fresh - not greasy. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I made it according to the original recipe. Just okay. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I used 3/4 c. cornstarch, and water, 1 egg and about 1/2c flour, panko bread crumbs. OMG..........better than restaurant quality. I'd give them 6 * if I could
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Excellent recipe but next time i'm going to use panko crumbs the whole family just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Changed the recipe quite a bit based on suggestions by other reviewers. Cut water and cornstarch by more than half. Used slightly less than 2 cups breading and added garlic powder, salt, cayenne pepper and black pepper. Only coated shrimp once. I friend about 1.5 lbs of shrimp and still had plent of batter left. So I used the same batter and breading for chicken tenders. I still had plenty left. Both shrimp and chicken tenders turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Bit disappointed with this recipe. Loved the butterfly idea and the cornstarch coating, to which I only used two cups of water and one cup of cornstarch. If using fresh breadcrumbs, as the recipe states, they need to be highly seasoned (which I did) or they would be incredibly bland. Unfortunately, I don't think that fresh breadcrumbs are the way to go. I use fresh for many recipes, but I wish I had used either dry crumbs or panko. The shrimp weren't nearly as crispy as I would have liked them to be. Will try again though and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States