Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Good recipe, but I had to make so many changes (using previous reviewers' suggestions) that I can't quite give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
This recipe was excellent. My family loved the breaded shrimp - it was nice and light. The batter didn't hold the grease and it tasted nice and fresh - not greasy. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I made it according to the original recipe. Just okay. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I used 3/4 c. cornstarch, and water, 1 egg and about 1/2c flour, panko bread crumbs. OMG..........better than restaurant quality. I'd give them 6 * if I could
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Excellent recipe but next time i'm going to use panko crumbs the whole family just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Changed the recipe quite a bit based on suggestions by other reviewers. Cut water and cornstarch by more than half. Used slightly less than 2 cups breading and added garlic powder, salt, cayenne pepper and black pepper. Only coated shrimp once. I friend about 1.5 lbs of shrimp and still had plent of batter left. So I used the same batter and breading for chicken tenders. I still had plenty left. Both shrimp and chicken tenders turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Bit disappointed with this recipe. Loved the butterfly idea and the cornstarch coating, to which I only used two cups of water and one cup of cornstarch. If using fresh breadcrumbs, as the recipe states, they need to be highly seasoned (which I did) or they would be incredibly bland. Unfortunately, I don't think that fresh breadcrumbs are the way to go. I use fresh for many recipes, but I wish I had used either dry crumbs or panko. The shrimp weren't nearly as crispy as I would have liked them to be. Will try again though and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
For some reason, this didn't turn out that good. The breading was coming off slightly and it didn't taste great. My husband didn't even eat all of the shrimp on his plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This is just what I was looking for. My kids do not like my fried shrimp because they are too spicy. This is perfect for them. I did use seasoned bread crumbs to add a little flavor and added the 1/4 cup of corn meal. I also halved the water and cornstarch as suggested. You should also halve the bread crumb mixture. I did about 2 1/2 pounds of shrimp and had at least half of the bread crumb mixture left. Adults will probably find this recipe bland. Just add garlic powder and paprika to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I made the receipe as printed with one exception - I had no bread crumbs so instead, I used pep. farm stuffing mix (I grounded itin the food processor). My husband said it was the best fried shrimp he ever had! Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States