Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I agree with the other reviewers who recommend cutting down or halving the water, eggs, and cornstarch. I sprinkled a bit of cajun seasoning on the shrimp before battering. Glad I did, or esle it would have been a little bland for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
As updated and modified by other reviewers, this recipe makes a very light coating to help bring out the natural taste of fried shrimp. For a pound of shrimp, you can easily get by using 1 and a 1/4 cup water, 1 egg and 4oz. of cornstarch. It's a must to use Panko bread crumbs. (If you can't find that brand in your stores, put a slice of white bread through a small countertop food processor and lightly dry the flakes in a low heat oven or a microwave). As also mentioned, there's no need to double dip. Dip once in the wash and once in the bread crumbs and then right into the oil. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was the best shrimp recipe I have tried. I made this for my mom who is my biggest critic and she loved them. Since I only had a pound and a half of shrimp, I used 1 egg and 3/4 cups of cornstarch. I also added a dash of garlic powder and a tsp of paprika for coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This recipe is simple and delicious. I used only 1 cup water, 1/2 cup corn starch, and 1 egg, and still had plenty left over. This is way cheaper than buying the frozen butterflied shrimp. I will use this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Too much water. What do you want us to make? Shrimp soup? Also, what is the point of the bread crumbs when the "mixture" washes them right off? Waste of time and good shrimp. Needs tweaking like less water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
WOW...I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars because it totally deserves it. I'm usually a failure at breading and frying food, but even I couldn't mess up this recipe!! The shrimp looked and tasted like restaurant-style fried shrimp and my entire family was impressed. The only thing I did differently was to mix the cornstarch with the bread crumbs (instead of with the egg and water) and to add a few spices to the bread crumbs (salt, pepper, paprika, and garlic powder). Also, cut down the water to about 1 cup because 4 cups is way to much. TRY THIS RECIPE!!!!!!!!! UPDATE: this breading is also great for mozzarella cheese sticks and chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Omgoodness these were excellent. I was skeptical, but they turned out great! I added some Old Bay Seasoning to the breadcrumbs for mre flavor. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Really enjoyable. Totally loved it. I made no changes I will be making this again My family loved it so much that they said I should cook for an entire restaurant instead of a single home. The best! I loved it too. Also good if dipped with Ketchup. Sooooooooooo Gooooooooooooooooooooood!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This was delicious, only change made was I used corn meal instead of starch as my batter...oops. However, they did turn out well. Served well along side Wasabi Cocktail Sauce, and they definitely don't last long. Had to make a second batch! Will be making these again though, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I used panko bread crumbs in the recipe as well and my family loved them! It went so fast my father said it was as good if not better as going to a restaurant and ordering fried shrimp, I will definately fix this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States