Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I usually pay attention to the reviews and adjust the recipe accordingly but somehow I missed the water suggestions. Way too much water, definetely reduce it. If you follow the recipe as stated, you can't double dip. Upon dipping your shrimp the second time around, the liquid mixture just removes the first coat you put on. Just don't coat a second time, it turns out fine. I didn't have any fresh breadcrumbs so I very lightly toasted 6 slices of bread in the oven, then ran them throuh the food processor. I also added salt, pepper and dried parsley to the breadcrumbs. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurencelle
Home Town: La Broquerie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Adolphe, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I am not a seafood person at all. I only made this because my husband loves shrimp. It's hard to cook something that you don't really care for, but I did it. I have to say that this was SUPER easy! My husband said it was great and I think that my 4.5 year old and 5.5 year old each ate at least as much as my husband did if not more, which completely shocked me! And I will admit, I DID try one...not bad for shrimp. ;o) Great recipe! I'll certainly make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was by far the BEST shrimp I've ever had. It was better than restaurant quality. Half of them never even made it to the table because we ate them right out of the pot. The ones that did make it were devoured in record time! We followed the advice to cut the water in half and added a little garlic salt and Emeril seasoning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
pretty good. couldn't give it a 5 because of so many changes. Great basic recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I agree with the other reviewers who recommend cutting down or halving the water, eggs, and cornstarch. I sprinkled a bit of cajun seasoning on the shrimp before battering. Glad I did, or esle it would have been a little bland for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
As updated and modified by other reviewers, this recipe makes a very light coating to help bring out the natural taste of fried shrimp. For a pound of shrimp, you can easily get by using 1 and a 1/4 cup water, 1 egg and 4oz. of cornstarch. It's a must to use Panko bread crumbs. (If you can't find that brand in your stores, put a slice of white bread through a small countertop food processor and lightly dry the flakes in a low heat oven or a microwave). As also mentioned, there's no need to double dip. Dip once in the wash and once in the bread crumbs and then right into the oil. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was the best shrimp recipe I have tried. I made this for my mom who is my biggest critic and she loved them. Since I only had a pound and a half of shrimp, I used 1 egg and 3/4 cups of cornstarch. I also added a dash of garlic powder and a tsp of paprika for coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This recipe is simple and delicious. I used only 1 cup water, 1/2 cup corn starch, and 1 egg, and still had plenty left over. This is way cheaper than buying the frozen butterflied shrimp. I will use this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Too much water. What do you want us to make? Shrimp soup? Also, what is the point of the bread crumbs when the "mixture" washes them right off? Waste of time and good shrimp. Needs tweaking like less water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
WOW...I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars because it totally deserves it. I'm usually a failure at breading and frying food, but even I couldn't mess up this recipe!! The shrimp looked and tasted like restaurant-style fried shrimp and my entire family was impressed. The only thing I did differently was to mix the cornstarch with the bread crumbs (instead of with the egg and water) and to add a few spices to the bread crumbs (salt, pepper, paprika, and garlic powder). Also, cut down the water to about 1 cup because 4 cups is way to much. TRY THIS RECIPE!!!!!!!!! UPDATE: this breading is also great for mozzarella cheese sticks and chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States