Fried Butterflied Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
The batter was way too watery. I knew better but did it anyway, complete failure. I suggest if you use this recipe to to use 2 cups of water instead. The flour would not stick well because of the batter so the shrimp tough and uneatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I pan fired these and they came out beautifully! Tasted great with a pineapple/coconut jam I had bough at the local farmers market
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Recipe was perfect as is and I did not change a thing with the batter. I did let shrinp set in fridge until slightly chilled before dipping in batter the 2nd time. For comparison I also made part of the batch using Panko for the second dip and felt that they turned out too too crispy/crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Well just made this tonight and rated it a 5! I had never made fried shrimp before at home.. I had to substitute flour for the bread crumbs due to I was all out and so I added 1 teaspoon of baking soda to the flour, I added seasoning to my flour, adobo, garlic salt, garlic powder pepper and rosemary just threw in about a teaspoon of each but the batter although I halved was amazing and this was the lightest fluffiest batter almost like between tempura and a batter.. everyone loved it and asked me to make it again tomorrow haha thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Barrett-Dick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I must say that I have tried a couple of recipes from this site and they were great. This fried shrimp recipe is a keeper. Well I scaled the water down and it was still to much. I also double breaded the shrimp and it was extra crispy, can't remember who it was but they said to use panko bread crumbs. I did I breaded with regular italian bread crumbs dropped the shrimp back in the egg wash and then dredged them in the panko. THEY WERE AWESOME. Nice a crispy just the way fried shrimp shoukd be. Thank you so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Like the others I reduced the water by half. Otherwise it is the perfect fried shrimp recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Great batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Used raw shrimp and these were perfect. Cut in 1/2 thru cooking process to make sure they were done. Great with crab cakes and onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Tried for the first time , friends could not stop commenting that the taste is even better than the prawns prepared in a seafood restaurant.Did not change anything in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love this recipe, I did cut down on the water using only 1 cup, and I used seasoned bread crumbs. My picky kids ate every last one of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States