Fried Black-Eye Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Tasty! I used blackeyed peas with jalapenos which added just enough spice. My family loved them and say that the recipe is a keeper. The texture is very soft and I would like to make it a bit firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Awe some!! Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
these were really good, I had some leftover black eyed peas that needed to get used up- they were dry beans, of course soaked and cooked. I used my hand blender to mash them, but left some a partly unmashed. I also roasted the red peppers myself. Next time I make them I think I will add more flour, so they stick together better. Also I think they need a little bit of sauce. I will try a few out next time and see what I like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I improvised a little with ingredients on hand... but this was a great starting place! I also made more, smaller patties because I like the crunchy bits on the outside so much. :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandy
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I was plesently surprised with these! I fixed up a batch and served them with some fish and eveyone really enjoyed them! I pattied them out alot smaller and it seemed to work out great! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell Springs, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Good recipe but I needed a LOT more than 3 TBS of flour. I frequently "guesstimate" my measurements but I think I used about 1 cup of flour to 3 cups of mashed peas. The mixture still never reached a consistency where I could make patties. I dropped a huge spoonful of batter into the hot pan, waited for one side to cook, and then turned it over with a spatula. I used the spatula to smash down the burger after flipping it to flatten it out some. With this change it is a really good basic recipe and a great way to use leftover beans or peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Easy, not bad, I served a crabcake on top and my husband loved it - and he HATES black eyed peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I tried these and loved them! What a great idea for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
kids loved them, especially with cheese & jalapenos. They thought they were fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
grew up mighty poor, meat was scarce on our table. my dad used to take the peas, mash them up and put all the seasonings you would use to make sausage, sometimes including some red pepper flakes, added some flour i think, anyway made them into patties and fried them up in bacon grease, He called it pea sausage,,you would never guess it wasn't sausage. My dad has been gone many years, I still make them sometime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Kelley Harris
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States