Fried Black-Eye Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
grew up mighty poor, meat was scarce on our table. my dad used to take the peas, mash them up and put all the seasonings you would use to make sausage, sometimes including some red pepper flakes, added some flour i think, anyway made them into patties and fried them up in bacon grease, He called it pea sausage,,you would never guess it wasn't sausage. My dad has been gone many years, I still make them sometime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Kelley Harris
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
these were really good, I had some leftover black eyed peas that needed to get used up- they were dry beans, of course soaked and cooked. I used my hand blender to mash them, but left some a partly unmashed. I also roasted the red peppers myself. Next time I make them I think I will add more flour, so they stick together better. Also I think they need a little bit of sauce. I will try a few out next time and see what I like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Tasty! I used blackeyed peas with jalapenos which added just enough spice. My family loved them and say that the recipe is a keeper. The texture is very soft and I would like to make it a bit firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Major

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Good recipe but I needed a LOT more than 3 TBS of flour. I frequently "guesstimate" my measurements but I think I used about 1 cup of flour to 3 cups of mashed peas. The mixture still never reached a consistency where I could make patties. I dropped a huge spoonful of batter into the hot pan, waited for one side to cook, and then turned it over with a spatula. I used the spatula to smash down the burger after flipping it to flatten it out some. With this change it is a really good basic recipe and a great way to use leftover beans or peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mandy
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I was plesently surprised with these! I fixed up a batch and served them with some fish and eveyone really enjoyed them! I pattied them out alot smaller and it seemed to work out great! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell Springs, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I improvised a little with ingredients on hand... but this was a great starting place! I also made more, smaller patties because I like the crunchy bits on the outside so much. :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Awe some!! Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
These were exactly what I was looking for - a vegetarian burger as enjoyable and satisfying as meat. Like some reviewers, I did find that the flour was not enough, so after having prepared everything else as directed, I then added 1/2 C. unseasoned bread crumbs. I tried a small test patty and it didn't hold together very well. So I added one egg to the mix, and that seemed to help. The only other addition was that I added about 1/2 tsp. cayenne for a little kick. Delicious! I'll definitely make these again. Oh, and perhaps my patties were abnormally small, but I got one dozen patties from this recipe and froze the extra. I ate these on homemade buns with cheddar and a scoop of salsa. Thank you for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
kids loved them, especially with cheese & jalapenos. They thought they were fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I tried these and loved them! What a great idea for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States