Fried Black-Eye Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
These were exactly what I was looking for - a vegetarian burger as enjoyable and satisfying as meat. Like some reviewers, I did find that the flour was not enough, so after having prepared everything else as directed, I then added 1/2 C. unseasoned bread crumbs. I tried a small test patty and it didn't hold together very well. So I added one egg to the mix, and that seemed to help. The only other addition was that I added about 1/2 tsp. cayenne for a little kick. Delicious! I'll definitely make these again. Oh, and perhaps my patties were abnormally small, but I got one dozen patties from this recipe and froze the extra. I ate these on homemade buns with cheddar and a scoop of salsa. Thank you for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scififreak
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I think this came out really well! Very tasty. Even my super picky grandmother liked it! I did make some modifications though... 1. We didn't have any shallots, so I sauteed chopped brown onion and garlic. 2. We didn't have any bell pepper either, but I didn't substitute anything for it. 3. I used a bag of frozen black eyed peas and boiled them with smoked turkey legs for flavor. Because of this and the bacon, I didn't add ANY salt. Just black pepper. 4. I got 7 good-sized patties from the one bag of peas. 5. I only had about 5 strips of bacon, so I used that (instead of a full half pound). 6. I dipped each patty in egg (one whole egg, beaten) before rolling it in the flour. I honestly think it would have stuck mostly okay without it. I had none of the problems getting the patties to stick together like some of the other reviews mentioned. They may not have let their beans get soft enough or they didn't mash them enough. I also formed the patties from fully cooled peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer E Dale
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great Recipe. Didnt have bacon and didnt need bacon. Tasted incredible. I dip them in sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer E Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
To make this a little healthier try cooking in Olive Oil instead of butter and veggie oil. I also used turkey bacon, an egg white to keep together and lightly dusted with flour. This will cut down on the calorie intake. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I am glad that I chose to make this. My husband doesn't like black-eye peas so I just had to use them in a way that he would learn to like them differently. They were a hit! He ate a couple and said they were really good! They are going down as my fav and I will make them again in the near future. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
grew up mighty poor, meat was scarce on our table. my dad used to take the peas, mash them up and put all the seasonings you would use to make sausage, sometimes including some red pepper flakes, added some flour i think, anyway made them into patties and fried them up in bacon grease, He called it pea sausage,,you would never guess it wasn't sausage. My dad has been gone many years, I still make them sometime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Kelley Harris
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
kids loved them, especially with cheese & jalapenos. They thought they were fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I tried these and loved them! What a great idea for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Easy, not bad, I served a crabcake on top and my husband loved it - and he HATES black eyed peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Good recipe but I needed a LOT more than 3 TBS of flour. I frequently "guesstimate" my measurements but I think I used about 1 cup of flour to 3 cups of mashed peas. The mixture still never reached a consistency where I could make patties. I dropped a huge spoonful of batter into the hot pan, waited for one side to cook, and then turned it over with a spatula. I used the spatula to smash down the burger after flipping it to flatten it out some. With this change it is a really good basic recipe and a great way to use leftover beans or peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States