Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I'm going to stay with my own recipe. The vegetable oil is a very bad idea.. use the butter or if you're health conscious use a light margarine. Instead of pouring maple syrup on at end, just make your own; it's better. Put your apple slices in the pan, put maybe a tablespoon or so of water, add either white (my preference) or brown sugar to your taste.. I usually cover the apples, sprinkle with cinnamon & a little nutmeg to your taste, and at least 2 tablespoons of butter. Cover tightly and cook on low heat until cooked down to your liking. Serve with warm, buttered toast.. my daughters love to put the apples on their toast and take bites of it together. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankclay, Missouri, USA
Living In: Antonia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I'll stay with my grandmother's old tried and true. She used to make these every Sunday morning with biscuits. The maple syrup does something to the apples that just throws the taste off. Never fry apples in oil! Always fry apples in butter! We also add raisins and dry cranberries. The sweet part is brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg with just a teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
TRY BUTTER RATHER THAN VEG OIL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
My mother(who is German)made fried apples like this using butter instead of oil. After frying the apples they were dusted off with powder sugar....so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Could use a little more ingredients. DO NOT use vegetable oil! Instead use butter. Don't use syrup. It's just full of bad things. Instead try 3 tablespoons of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and 2 tablespoons of cinnamon. Other then that it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My grandmother used to make these for me as a special treat. She sliced them thin and left the skin on. She would have never used oil, only butter. No maple syrup either, she used sugar, nutmeg and cinnamon (as mentioned by another reviewer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Nice starter recipe. Use unsalted Butter, Brown Sugar, Pumpkin Pie Spice, and a teaspoon of vanilla. Who said apples can't be fattening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I've made fried apples many times but have NEVER used vegetable oil and don't think I'd even want to try. Butter is way better! But I did enjoy the subtle maple flavor and thought that this was a tasty warm ice cream topping. ( I meant to sprinkle a little cinnamon on top but forgot to for my photo because the ice cream was melting and I had to hurry!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was good but nothing spectacular. I didn't even consider using vegetable oil, butter is the only way to go for this recipe as far as I'm concerned. I used real maple syrup and I could barely taste the flavor, it was just sweet. I think it needs a sprinkle of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I made these with my mom and they were so good. I wanted not only sencond, but way more! Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States