Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Great. Simple. I did notice one oddity: I made this recipe (with butter) to serve with pork chops instead of apple sauce. When my wife tasted it she moved it to the side of her plate and when she was done with the meal she got out the ice cream. With pork chops or ice cream, great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canada Reals
Living In: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
tasted great! now for the rest of you......READ THE DIRECTIONS....melt oil or BUTTER. did any of you who shot this down get past the ingredients list? just wanted to point that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I've made fried apples many times but have NEVER used vegetable oil and don't think I'd even want to try. Butter is way better! But I did enjoy the subtle maple flavor and thought that this was a tasty warm ice cream topping. ( I meant to sprinkle a little cinnamon on top but forgot to for my photo because the ice cream was melting and I had to hurry!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was good but nothing spectacular. I didn't even consider using vegetable oil, butter is the only way to go for this recipe as far as I'm concerned. I used real maple syrup and I could barely taste the flavor, it was just sweet. I think it needs a sprinkle of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I made these with my mom and they were so good. I wanted not only sencond, but way more! Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
My mother(who is German)made fried apples like this using butter instead of oil. After frying the apples they were dusted off with powder sugar....so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Could use a little more ingredients. DO NOT use vegetable oil! Instead use butter. Don't use syrup. It's just full of bad things. Instead try 3 tablespoons of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and 2 tablespoons of cinnamon. Other then that it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Nice starter recipe. Use unsalted Butter, Brown Sugar, Pumpkin Pie Spice, and a teaspoon of vanilla. Who said apples can't be fattening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I really liked this recipe just way it is ! I did use butter, I don't think oil would be as good. This was yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
recipe is oki...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States