Fried Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
1st time followed recipe, 2nd time went back to my recipe of butter, brown sugar, red hots-candy!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Great. Simple. I did notice one oddity: I made this recipe (with butter) to serve with pork chops instead of apple sauce. When my wife tasted it she moved it to the side of her plate and when she was done with the meal she got out the ice cream. With pork chops or ice cream, great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canada Reals
Living In: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I really liked this recipe just way it is ! I did use butter, I don't think oil would be as good. This was yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
tasted great! now for the rest of you......READ THE DIRECTIONS....melt oil or BUTTER. did any of you who shot this down get past the ingredients list? just wanted to point that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Butter is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMKCrow

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Nice starter recipe. Use unsalted Butter, Brown Sugar, Pumpkin Pie Spice, and a teaspoon of vanilla. Who said apples can't be fattening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My grandmother used to make these for me as a special treat. She sliced them thin and left the skin on. She would have never used oil, only butter. No maple syrup either, she used sugar, nutmeg and cinnamon (as mentioned by another reviewer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Could use a little more ingredients. DO NOT use vegetable oil! Instead use butter. Don't use syrup. It's just full of bad things. Instead try 3 tablespoons of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and 2 tablespoons of cinnamon. Other then that it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I've made fried apples many times but have NEVER used vegetable oil and don't think I'd even want to try. Butter is way better! But I did enjoy the subtle maple flavor and thought that this was a tasty warm ice cream topping. ( I meant to sprinkle a little cinnamon on top but forgot to for my photo because the ice cream was melting and I had to hurry!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I'll stay with my grandmother's old tried and true. She used to make these every Sunday morning with biscuits. The maple syrup does something to the apples that just throws the taste off. Never fry apples in oil! Always fry apples in butter! We also add raisins and dry cranberries. The sweet part is brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg with just a teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States