Fried Apple Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
This recipe makes very authentic tasting pies, although I did alter the applesauce recipe because I like mine to be really chunky and spiced with nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon. I also used brown sugar (1/2 c. packed dark brown) in place of white sugar. The applesauce has a slightly spicier and richer flavor this way. I also would suggest piercing the pies with a fork before frying to help aid in cooking the whole way through and preventing steam from building up inside and creating large air bubbles. Making good pie crust is essential to having a good pie. Butter crusts usually have a stronger, flakier flavor and texture if that is what you prefer. Make sure you don't overwork the crust or mix it too much or it will become tough and bland. Add the water a little bit at a time (about a Tbsp at a time), just until there is enough water to hold the dough together. Also make sure the water is ice cold to help keep the butter or shortening from softening up. Anyone who had difficulty getting the crust the cook the entire way through without becoming very dark and crisp on the outside should try rolling the dough thinner. An eighth of an inch is less than you might think. If you have made the dough well it will roll out and hold together. However, keep in mind that the more time you roll out the dough, the tougher it will be once cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKRUDERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Very good recipe, the apples came out delicious! I too got lazy and used Grands biscuits. I also baked these instead of frying them. I melted butter in a stoneware pan, coated the pies on both sides and baked 5 minutes on each side. They turned out awesome, they were slightly buttery and less fattening. My husband said they were just like his mother's, which was the result I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIET310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
OK...so I was a little sceptical.. I admit I love Mc Donalds fried apple pies.... and these are BETTER! They also free from all the preservatives, flavor modifiers and colors those guys put in. I made some changes to the filling - I added 1 tsp butter to saute apples and at the end I added 1 tbs of flour mixed with 1 cup of water. I cooked that down on low heat for 5 minutes and got that nice, cinammony goopy sauce that pours out when you bit it! Everybody in the family ate two.. wanted more but they were gone. happy cooking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
O.K. Melissa, I'll admit it, I definitely cheated a bit with this recipe. After making two loaves of bread I wasn't in the mood to make yet another dough, so I took out a can of Grands flaky biscuits, rolled each one out and filled with the apples. I also used two tablespoons of butter while cooking my apples, didn't mash them and used more cinnamon. These were absolutely incredible! I think I'll try this recipe with peaches next time. Thanks for a great idea!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
The taste of these were great. I used my own dough recipie. (1/2c. butter, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 1/2c. flour and up to 1/2c. cold water). The only thing I had problem with was my dough melting when I put the filling in hot. Let the filling cool first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I love McDonalds fried apple pies but my nearest McDonalds is a loooong way away. I've been looking for a recipe to make similar ones at home and here it is! These pies came out DELICIOUS!!! The pie dough came out perfect! They were golden and crunchy on the outside and moist and chewy on the inside. I used butter instead of shortening though for extra flavour. I changed the filling recipe to the mock McDonalds one - chunky apples, with more cinnamon, nutmeg, brown sugar, lemon zest and a touch of cornstarch with lemon juice for thickening. I'm DEFINITELY making these pies again!!! Even better flavour and at a fraction of the price of the McDonald's ones :D Thanks to the author for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babooshka76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
YUM! Everyone LOVED these!!!! The only change I made though was that I added vanilla, cinnamon, and ground ginger to the dough since some people's reviews said that it didn't have enough flavor. That did it for us! Thanks for the DELICIOUS recipe=) Will double, or maybe even triple the recipe next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junior's_Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This is the easist recipe to follow. I have never made the crust from scratch before. I have always used canned biscuits. Never again. This is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Memories are made of this.... Just like Mammaw use to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is a wonderfully simple and tasty recipe that is easily adaptable for any taste preference. My family loved this one! We added a teaspoon of cream cheese to them on our second batch which added a great little zingy twist to an already fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States