Fried Apple Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
The apples were good, but that's all that I can say that was good. The crust was too dry and fell apart when folding over. I tried to patch it up with water. They soaked up the grease from frying. I love almost all recipes, but this was the worst. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Just like my Mammy used to make. Delicious! She also used a peach/apricot mixture that I am going to try next. You just can't beat this crust, IMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Hm...I found the dough very difficult to work with. It just wouldn't come together until I added some extra water, and it was difficult to roll out. Once I cut them into circles they were manageable. I used Granny Smith apples with a white and brown sugar mixture, and didn't mash them after cooking. I brushed the pies with the liquid at the bottom of the pan. I baked these rather than frying, and I thought they were good dusted with powdered sugar. The filling was delicious but the crust, despite tasting fine, was just not worth all the frustration...I think I'll try these again with a better crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I was overall very impressed with this recipe, as others suggested I used more butter in the dough, and instead of making the apples into applesauce, I cooked them for about 15 minutes, so they still hold their shape, and spooned them like that directly into the dough. I Also made them sweeter, and I let them sit linger in the refrigerator so the butter would harden more, and I messed with the dough as little as possible, to make it flaky. I definitely rate this recipe 5 stars with the reversions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These were so easy to make yet, they looked like it took all day. My famiy devoured them and beg me to make them all the time! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Exceptionally good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F. Peters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wewoka, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Very good although I did make a few changes. I used 3 large apples, 1/2c. white sugar + 1/4c. brown sugar, 1 1/2t. cinnamon, and 1t. vanilla. I tripled the dough recipe. I found that I needed to add a lot of water to make the dough work for me. I deep fried these then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar while still hot. They were a huge hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Great pies! Thanks so much for the recipe. I love the homemade crust, although I have used canned biscuits in the past with success. (if you do use canned biscuits, get the kind with extra butter flavor--it makes the crust flakier, I think.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is my new favorite fried pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
My Mom made these all the time. I was looking for the dough recipe when I saw this one. Everything else I found was made with pre-packaged dough. Made them. Just like my Mom use to made!!! Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jasper, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States