Fried Apple Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
so good made them all the time when i was pregnant with my son just like good old mickey D's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
My family loved these little pies. The filling came out perfect I wouldn't a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stratford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
A very good basic recipe, well worth trying. My pastry turned out great, as others have mentioned, I used a bit of butter in it. I cut my apples into small chunks and used brown sugar, instead of white and some butter when cooking them. Thanks for a great new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Super easy and yummy. I first made these two or so years ago. I followed the recipe and made the pie dough, using butter. They were yummy--even though I had never made pie dough before. This time I followed the suggestion of using Grand's biscuits. Just be sure to pat/roll them as thin as possible..as well as prick with a fork. They puff up bigtime if you don't. I dusted with cinnamon/sugar and they were wonderful. So easy to put together using the Grand's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
These came out great. Instead of mashing up the apples though I just left them in chunks and it was delicious. I also added a tbsp of butter to the apple filling while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
WOW! FABULOUS! The only thing I changed was I added a tiny sprinkle of cloves and a sprinkle of nutmeg to the apples as they were cooking, and I baked them for 20 minutes instead of frying them. When I saw the fat content I refused to fry them, but I can't imagine them being any better! As the apples were cooking I chopped them like I would if I was making ground hamburger. This makes a chunkier apple sauce. I also sprinkled them with cinnamon and sugar before putting them in the oven. The crust worked perfectly. I was a little worried with the crust after reading some of the reviews, but it was easy, light and flakey! Use this crust recipe! I had three crusts left over so I had to make one more apple worth of sauce, and I started with three apples so I would use four apples for this recipe. I ended up with 9 baby pies. These are so good and so cute! I love them! They are also so fun to make! Everyone, try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I halved the recipe and it came out fine for my first time, I wasn't very confident about how the apples should look while they are cooking, but they tasted just fine. I may try these again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anglica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I found these to be very oily...but, I do think that I did not cook them enough. The only one in our house of six who liked them was our 7-year-old son. He gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
The apples were good, but that's all that I can say that was good. The crust was too dry and fell apart when folding over. I tried to patch it up with water. They soaked up the grease from frying. I love almost all recipes, but this was the worst. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Just like my Mammy used to make. Delicious! She also used a peach/apricot mixture that I am going to try next. You just can't beat this crust, IMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States