Fried Apple Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made my own dough based on this recipe.. I added a little sugar, some cinnamon, and used an egg with some water and vanilla beat together instead of just plain water. My dough wasn't bland at all then =) I used canned blueberry pie filling since I had leftovers from making another recipe and I'm quite happy with the results. Remember to turn down the heat after a while, so your last couple pies don't end up cooked on the outside but raw on the inside! I ended up with 12 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I made this exactly as the recipie called for and man, it was good. Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMBrsl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I have been making these little apple pies for a year and am just getting around to rating them. They are great and remind me of the ones my mother made when I was a kid. I added another apple, upped the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon plus a dash of nutmeg (our family likes spices), and used 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of granulated sugar, as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
very delicious! I made them 3 nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! I have made these for many friends who have really enjoyed them. These are also good with a blueberry or fruit jam filling, and with poppy seeds and/or nuts inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
What a simple, delicious way to throw a quick dessert together. My kids loved it, and so did my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIARE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
YUM !! this is very good, made some and family members AGREED YUMMY !! No changes for me the only thing is I'll double the batch and freeze them like some of the other reader. P.S. warming them up alittle and having vanilla ice cream on them MAKES for DOUBLE YUM !!! thanks for this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
great filling! i put it inside a pressed out canned biscuit and put another on top, then sealed the edges with a fork and baked it. it was delicious. the only thing- a little too sweet. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This recipe certainly lived upto my expectations :) But I did modify it a bit according to the other reviews. To sum it up, I added butter to the frying pan before adding the apples. I substituted brown sugar for the white, and I used a whole lot more cinnamon powder than recommended. But it was amazing. The applesauce was delicious and the the wole fried pie was just too good for words. It made 10 decent sized pies and there was a lot of dough leftover. Tomorrow I am going to make a double or triple quantity, and I am going to freeze it. After rolling the dough out, I intend to heat it for about a minute on each side before filling it up with applesauce. I can then defreeze it and fry it when unexpected guests turn up. Edit : The freezing didn't turn out as well as I expected. The pies stuck to each other and the ough kept breaking.. I know there must be a perfect way to do this, but haven't found it. Still this is a great pie to fry and eat immediately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Overall taste is ok. Did the filling with 1 tbsp of flour + water. The skin is good, but won't keep its crispyness for long. So eat fast. Warning : DON'T be greedy in putting too much filling. It oozes out and really mess up the oil when frying it. There must be a better way than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States