Fried Apple Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by STJACK1
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Turned out great. I used half shortening and half butter and added 1 Tbl sugar to the crust. After frying, I sprinkled with a sugar cinnamon mix. OK, I was lazy and didn't have any apples, I used canned apple pie filling. This was really easy and turned out very good! I've used allrecipes.com for years and never bothered to rate anything until now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These were okay. Mine were far too messy for some reason or another and the dough needs to be a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by braylicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dawsonville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
So good! DH said they tasted just like McDonalds' apple pies! He ate three in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I love eveything apple. Did these with the canned biscuits, They where good. I can't wait to try these with the homemade pie crust. I also put the extra little spice's in. I smashed about half the apples with a fork, left the others chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These were very good but of course I changed the recipe. I added more vanilla and some cornstrach to the recipe. I didn't make complete applesauce, I left some apple chunks. I also added nutmeg and allspice. I used the can buscuits but recommend baking rather than frying the pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Well I tried this one both frying and baking. Frying tasted a lot better the only problem i had was turning them they fell apart the apple/sugar/cinnamon + butter mixture was awesome. thanks again for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I wasn't fond of the apple sauce type filling so I made very thin slices of apples and when they were cooked pretty well soft, I turned the heat up to med/high and added 1Tbsp. cornstarch mixed with 2Tbls water to thicken the sauce. I have to triple the recipe for my family of 5 and they love it. I also replaced half the flour with whole wheat flour and it was amazing. Thanks for the great new recipe, it will be going through my family for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made my own dough based on this recipe.. I added a little sugar, some cinnamon, and used an egg with some water and vanilla beat together instead of just plain water. My dough wasn't bland at all then =) I used canned blueberry pie filling since I had leftovers from making another recipe and I'm quite happy with the results. Remember to turn down the heat after a while, so your last couple pies don't end up cooked on the outside but raw on the inside! I ended up with 12 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I made this exactly as the recipie called for and man, it was good. Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMBrsl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I have been making these little apple pies for a year and am just getting around to rating them. They are great and remind me of the ones my mother made when I was a kid. I added another apple, upped the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon plus a dash of nutmeg (our family likes spices), and used 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of granulated sugar, as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States