Fried Apple Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
These apple pies are GREAT! I made some a few days ago and they tatsed awesome! I made some more apple pies today and they were just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FZI AAA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
how can you go wrong with fried dough?! yummy! will be making fried fruit pies whenever we have aging fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4in4mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
these were so good next ima roll them in cinnamon sugar after i fry them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaryChef08

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
"Divine" and "Holy COW!" were just a few of the reactions these tasty, flaky little pies received from my guests. The ratio of apples to crust was perfection, so there isn't much of a need to change this recipe at all. STILL...because I'm always tweaking things, I did add a tbsp butter, 2 tbsp flour and more spice to the apples (1/2 tsp cloves, 1/2 tsp nutmeg) while they were cooking. The results were tender, fragrant, tiny bites of bliss! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
My children loved these! I used other reviewers' suggestions: I did not mash the apples. Just be sure to chop the apples into small pieces and the result will be perfect. I added more "autumn" seasonings to the apples while cooking them. After frying, I sprinkled a mix of powdered sugar and cinnamon over the tops of these wonderful pies. Thank you for a great, easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Maybe I'm missing something, but where's the ingredient list for the filling? I made my own with a little flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and apple. So really, I suppose I'm just reviewing the crust...which was average, worked fine but nothing exceptional. Next time I'll do a donut glaze, powdered sugar didn't really seem like the best fit for a topping, but definitely needs sweetness on the crust...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I used this basic recipe for a fried fruit pie, but I made a different filling. Delicious! The crust is great, and it's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This was not my favorite. They had an oily taste and the crust was too thin. Not sure what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I like the apple mixture, though next time I will go with 1/2 cup of sugar. Need more work on my pie crust! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Excellent pastry!!! I had already made apple pie filling for a big pie but decided to try fried pies instead. I had my 7 year old son do the pastry and it was a breeze for him, so easy to work with. I did add a bit of sugar to the pastry mix to sweeten it up a bit but other than that, we followed it exactly as written and it worked perfectly. I refrigerated the pies but a bit before frying, so we would have the whole lot rolled and filled before heating up the oil. Always a good suggestion to keep short pastry cold before using. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States