Fried Apple Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I have had many compliments on this recipe and I love it. The variations I have tried have also been good...1. Used Bread flour instead of regular flour, 2. Used Phyllo dough(supermarket) and baked them instead of frying. 3. Used Puff Pastry(supermarket)and baked them. I think my favorite is the Bread flour version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These were good and fun to make but not necessarily what I was hoping for. Thank you for sharing this fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Delish!! Once fried and sprinkled with powdered sugar spoon left over apples/sauce over pies! Once you start you won't be able to stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I rarely try to make cakes, cookies, etc... but when I saw the recipe for this it looked super easy! So I tried it, and they came out perfectly. Thanks for the recipe (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khrysten1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
So good! Great for fall. I will make with whole wheat pastry flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
These pies are excellent but the next time I make them I will use 4 apples. I ran out of apples and had much more pie dough remaining. Super yummy and will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katmomdo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I didn't make these I just wanted to say that my grandmother use to make these but she used Dehydrated apples she said that was the key. Just thought I'd share that. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mathiston, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackies Recipes
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I tried this recipe, and added a small amount of lemon to it, instead of vinegar,and it is great..we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackies Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Princeton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
These were labor intensive, but really good. They've inspired me to can apple pie filling next year--having either dough or filling ready would make these a quick(er) and easy treat. I usually avoid frying because of the mess and smell but this recipe's one cup is certainly do-able, and since I cooked it in a big pot I had no splatters to clean up. Definitely not for everyday, but a fun and tasty splurge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I was not impressed with these. It took a long time to make a small quantity. I was expecting them to be great after all that work, but I didn't like them very much and the kids didn't like them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States