Fried Apple Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
These apple pies were so easy to make. My family and grandkids loved them so much, I had to make another batch. I will use this recipe many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
These were awesome! I made this morning. I refrigerated my dough for a little while after making and it rolled out so smoothly. The apple pie filling was sweet but not syrupy sweet...very nice. I gave some to a friend of mine and her husband loved them too! Had to eat 2 of them!!! I sprinkled mine with cinnamon and sugar after frying. Make this recipe and you wont be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DML

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
these were so good!! i made them using honey crisp apples and i used a recipe for the dough from this site (E-Z drop biscuits). definitely will make these again! thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This recipe was very good, and my family ate them all. The only thing was that it needed some extra filling. Next and there will be a next time I will add more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I love McDonalds fried apple pies but my nearest McDonalds is a loooong way away. I've been looking for a recipe to make similar ones at home and here it is! These pies came out DELICIOUS!!! The pie dough came out perfect! They were golden and crunchy on the outside and moist and chewy on the inside. I used butter instead of shortening though for extra flavour. I changed the filling recipe to the mock McDonalds one - chunky apples, with more cinnamon, nutmeg, brown sugar, lemon zest and a touch of cornstarch with lemon juice for thickening. I'm DEFINITELY making these pies again!!! Even better flavour and at a fraction of the price of the McDonald's ones :D Thanks to the author for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babooshka76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
OH maaaan these are awesome! I made them with cold butter instead of shortening, and put the dough in the fridge while I was making the filling. I used two BIG Granny Smith apples, which still was not enough for the dough. It only made five pies, and I still had about a quarter of the dough left. Next time, I'll use more apples. I also did not puree them, just left them in small pieces. Otherwise, followed the quantities exactly, and fried in enough oil to cover half way up each pie, and turned them over after it got golden brown on the bottom. My mom, who is my biggest critic, loved them! They really were delicious,flaky, and not oily at all! Thank you for this great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
My boyfriend told me he loved me for the first time after I made him these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I made about 20 of these for a group of about 35 college kids... it wasn't enough. They really loved it. It was simple enough to make, but time consuming... then again we didn't have cooking utensils or a rolling pin, so that may have contributed. Anyways, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Oh I have been looking for something like this for a while. This was exactly what I wanted. I had some icing that I made up for something else and drizzled it over. What a treat. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
MY family was so fond of this recipe, we finished one batch in one night so we made more the next day! The second time, we replaced the white sugar with honey which made for a little sauciness (the original recipe's filling seemed dry) and tripled the cinnamon. We rolled them into little munchkin balls and called them "apple balls". My 4yr. old enjoyed helping. I admit, like another reviewer mentioned, I like McDonald's apple pies too, and as we were first eating these, I thought to myself as well, that these were comparable and far healthier. About the crust- the first time, I over watered, it was soo sticky, but fried up fine. The net day, I was more careful with adding water based on the dough's consistency instead of measurement, and the dough was still great. So I found the dough to be VERY forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States