Friday Night Veggie Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is the first recipe from this site that my family absolutely did not care for. We literally couldn't eat it, it was so bad. Admittedly, I did puree everything together in a food processor at the end, because my brother had just gotten braces on the day before, but that's just a change in texture, not flavor. I have no idea what went wrong- I listed the ingredients and neither my mom nor my brother could figure out the culprit, but either way this turned out horrible and I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This soup was great and easy to prepare! I modified the recipe based on what I had in my cabinets, and it turned out great with the alterations. I added a can of kidney beans, used a smaller can of tomato sauce than was called for, and used vegetable soup mix instead of french onion. I also only used 8 cups of water. My boyfriend loved the soup and said it was similar to the beef stew his dad used to make, without the beef...perfect b/c I'm a vegetarian. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I have to note that I'm not someone that needs heavily spiced foods yet this was still bland for me. HOWEVER, I froze this soup in small freezer bags, and as I defrost them I add cayanne pepper, cumin, and fresh cracked pepper and it's better...I won't ever make it again though...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Serve hot with cold evaporated milk, if desired? I don't get it. Add cold milk to hot soup or serve with it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma G

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I love this soup. You can add any veggies you like, and it keeps well too. I added 1 can of mexican tomatoes to give it a little kick, and left out the tomato sauce. I didn't use frozen vegetables. Instead, I used carrots and fresh green beans. I also left out the evaporated milk. You'll love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
pretty easy to make. i didn't have tomato sauce, so i used 1/3 cup of tomato paste. i also used golden onion soup mix instead of regular mix and added a few beef bullion cubes. would be great with chunks of beef for to put the "beef" in this vegetable beef tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hengyang, Hunan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This was Excellent, at first I thought it was missing something, but I let it set overnight and it was Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Great flavor! I added only 8 cups of water and that was more than enough. Also, the frozen vegetables did get a little mushy while the potatoes and celery were perfect. I think next time I make this I will spend the time and cut up fresh vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
This is a great soup for a chilly night!! It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States