Fresh Zucchini Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
A really creative take on the traditional "olio e aglio" sauce! The point of such a sauce is that you like and want the strong, fresh taste of garlic (aglio). These sauces are not for the faint-hearted. This definitely needs to be seasoned with more olive oil (should be a little shiny, not dry). The nice thing about an olio e aglio sauce is that you can add different herbs (fresh basil, parsley and pine nuts make it "pesto"; hot pepper flakes, oregano and parsey make it "puttanesca", etc. Olio and aglio sauces are not traditionally served with parmesan cheese, nor are fish sauces. Cheese is used with meat or tomato sauces, Alfredo, butter-based sauces, etc. Great recipe for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I made this last night, using 3 very small cloves of garlic, and my husband and I found the garlic extremely overpowering, ruining what sounded like a good dish. We did add parmasean to it, which made it better tasting, but too thick/dry. With the leftovers, I threw them in a pan for a quick fry, and added some almond milk to make it creamy. It cooked up the garlic to give it a very nice flavour and the zucchini still had a crunch to it. Next time, I'll still marinate it, but fry it up prior to adding the pasta to mellow out the strong garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hollyleatha
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is one of my favorites and I can't wait I make it again this weekend. I added a little extra olive oil, diced Roma tomatoes and basil. My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Excellent! Just a little more extra Virgin Olive oil at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was an excellent fresh recipe. Would be good served hot or cold and is easily adaptable for additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe just as is. This was light tasty a huge hit with the family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Made this with whole wheat pasta and used more zucchini. I've never been a big fan of zucchini but have to admit this was a great way to prepare it. The zucchini stayed nice and crunchy. DH really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
i tried this recipe with angel hair pasta and also with rice noodles for gluten intolerant friend. Rice noodles were by far the best. added parmesan cheese. great cold. start here and go play with it. added sliced red pepper, pecans. this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Artesia, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was nice, fresh and light! Two things I think this needed to make it perfect for us was a bit more olive oil (maybe another 2-3 Tbsps., I didn't measure) and lots of grated parmesan cheese. This would make a great side dish for any meat, seafood or fish. We actually preferred this room temp, as opposed to hot. I think next time I will add some red pepper flakes for a little spice. All in all, this was very good and I will def be making it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States