Fresh Tomato Zucchini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I've made this recipe (based on this recipe) many times over the past couple of years and just love it, as does my neighbour who writes for food magazines. I grate the zucchini & saute it, then add the chopped tomatoes, onion, garlic and a chopped red pepper, with chili flakes, fresh basil and dried dill, when I add the vegetable broth. I also add some garlic, ginger and chili mix I buy in jars from the grocery store. I always double the batch and freeze half of it. Lovely to look forward to on a chilly fall or winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I did change a couple of things, not ingredients but the method of getting there. We have a farm and sell at the local Farmer's Market so everthing is super fresh. I peeled my tomatoes and did NOT core them. I put the zucchini, tomatoes, garlic, onion and chili pepper in a roasting pan(covered in olive oil ) and roasted at 425 for about an hour turning them a couple of times. Roasted veggies are so much more flavorful. When they were done I transfered them to the food processor and pureed. I then put them in my "soup pot" on the stove and added my herbs. I added the vegetable broth not using as much as the recipe called for. This is a wonderful fresh soup that can be served rustic or very elegant to guests. Thanks to Susandon for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
We too have a glut of tomatoes and zucchini (courgettes to us Brits) during the summer months and this a classic soup with which to use up the abundant supply. It is a favourite at dinner parties and if you like it a bit more spicy add a teaspoon of harissa paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This is a great recipe! I just added a little more zucchini and an extra red pepper for more kick and it was perfect! We will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I added 2 celery stalks with the onion. Mine was very loose and watery, so during the last 10 minutes, I added a cup of evaporated milk and two cups of cooked rice to thicken it. Before serving I sprinkled some fresh chopped basil leaves on top, and we passed parmesan cheese at the table. This was easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Weiss
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I followed the advice of earlier reviewers and added the zucchini in the last 10 minutes of cooking. I also skipped the listed spices and pureed one fresh seeded jalapeño with the tomatoes and onion. This gave the soup a kick and cleared out my sinuses (terrific for a cold). I also toasted some French bread and used it for dipping. I would make this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
The base of the soup is a good idea. Definitely add zucchini in the end. I added pink beans along with a can of garbanzo beans for more substance. Also added a lot more garlic. I think this recipe called for way too much tarragon however. A little tweaking made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I thought this was okay--not bad, but not anything special, either. I used fresh herbs, and I wasn't crazy about the dill. Plus, all the flavor simmered out of the zucchini--I think it might be better to add it in during the last 5-10 minutes so it retains some texture and flavor. I don't plan to keep this one. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy'sKitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Vegies came from my husbands garden, thank you hun. Spicy banana peppers, green peppers,zucchini, and tomato's. I'm not a vegie lover-this was great. I added more tomato's than called for...Enjoy warm spicy refreshing soup with salty crisp crackers garnishing with banana peppers...no seeds//no tarragon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Sorry, we just couldn't eat it. I must not like tarragon at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States