Fresh Tomato Shrimp Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
As an Italian, and a good Italian cook, I can tell you this is one, nice dish. So many people think that Italian food is heavy with cloying,sweet, red sauce - not so. This is a pasta dish as it should be-fresh, light, delicate and pretty. Grated Romano or Parmesan cheese is considered a real no-no in Italian pasta dishes made with seafood. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Excellent flavor! Husband went back for seconds, and said it's a keeper. Tweaked the recipe a bit by adding equal amount of butter w/olive oil, 3 TBS. dry white wine with the tomatoes, doubled the spinach, and used part mozzarella and fresh shredded parmesan (as that was all I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I used dried herbs, canned tomatoes (drained), and 8oz of frozen spinach (thawed & drained). I did not use food processor. I added sliced greek olives, chopped sun-dried tomatoes and subbed low-fat feta cheese for the mozzarella. Only needed half the amount of pasta (I used whole-wheat angel hair). Sprinkled with crushed red peppers. Heavenly! Quartered artichoke hearts might have been good too, maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I love this recipe and have made it many times. I would recommend that you do not skimp on any of the ingredients. I made the mistake of not adding as much of the seasonings and it was bland. I have also made it without fresh basil and oregano but I would never do it again. Fresh is imperative to the flavor of this recipe. I also add at least double the spinach if not more and it still doesn't overwhelm the other ingredients. Lastly, I like to use freshly shaved parmesan cheese instead of the mozzarella at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I had to add alot to this recipe to make it good first I used raw shrimp so I sauted it first with onions and garlic and seasoned it with old bay and seafood seasoning, then I removed it from heat and in that same pan with the pan drippings I added fresh spinach and mushrooms and fresh tomatoes along with sundried tomatoes let it saute a little then added the pasta and some red pepper flakes and the shrimp and served it with some fresh grated parm cheese...no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This is very good. I used whole wheat pasta. And, I didn't mix the sauce with the pasta. I was afraid the sauce would run to the bottom of the dish and all we'd have is pasta with some veggies. I added the aromatics but, I didn't run them through the blender. I wanted the veggie pieces to be recognizable. We served the pasta in bowls and spooned the sauce over the pasta. When I plated the pasta and shrimp, I added 4 or 5 cherry tomato halves on top and sprinkled it with Parmasean cheese. We will definitely have this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Yum! "Restaurant quality" according to my hubby! I used a can of diced tomatoes with chiles (we like spicy food) instead of the fresh tomato, used dried herbs and whole wheat thin spaghetti. Used the fresh mozzerella, but I bet it would be great with feta, as well! Very tasty and pretty healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I love this recipe considering I'm not really a big fan of spinach. Definitely a keeper!!! I also used butter with olive oil and doubled the spinach the second time I made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Added 2 cups spinach and just 2 tomatoes 'cause that's what i had on hand. As other reviewer said, added a splash of white wine to the sauce. I must say my mom and i were very skeptical about this recipe, but it ended up being a huge success. After mixing the pasta and sauce together, let them sit for a while before serving. Didn't add the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Such a nice change for pasta! The sauce is light and clean tasting, rather than heavy and overwhelming. I didn't have fresh oregano and used 1 Tbs. dried instead; worked just fine. Also, I used the frozen 30-40/lb. shrimp and put them into the sauce at the same time I put in the spinach. All came out perfectly cooked and lovely. Hubby says this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States