Fresh Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I tried making this and had to change it after I realized there was going to be Wayyyyy too much onion. I hope to find a better recipe next time. I haven't tasted this yet but it doesn't look appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrontierCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is a nice, simple sauce. I've made many types of quick tomato sauces, and I can tell you there are some basic tips that aren't really discussed in this recipe. #1 - Plum tomatoes are always preferable to other varieties of tomatoes in a sauce recipe, because they tend to have more flesh and fewer seeds and juice. If you are using so-called 'table tomatoes,' you should seed them before you dice them, and you'll still probably have to cook them longer, or simmer them UNCOVERED to let the water evaporate. Voila! No more thin sauce. #2 - Fresh tomato sauce needs a bit more salt than you would think. If you are sensitive, or trying to lower your sodium intake, try adding some fresh lemon juice near the end of the cooking time, or adding a salt-free seasoning blend (like Mrs. Dash(TM)). #3 - Some tomato varieties tend to be very acidic. Taste them raw, and if they are acidic, you'll want to add maybe 1/2 to one teaspoon of sugar to counteract the acid - especially since this recipe calls for white wine (don't forget to taste before and after you add a small amount of sugar - no one likes an overly-sweet sauce). My preferences are to peel the tomatoes before dicing (I don't like the texture of cooked tomato skins), and I like a bit of heat. Red pepper flakes are traditional, but a few shakes of the hot sauce bottle work for me. Hope you try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This was delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Made it with fresh tomatoes from my garden and added mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisawas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I'm excited to try this, going to freeze for later use, thanks for add'l. comments. It sounds easy and yummy!! OK, so I tried this today OMG, it is so good!!! Thank You Karmele, I did tweak this some, 1st of all I doubled the recipe cuz I'm gonna freeze it, I omitted the gr peppers cuz my husband cant eat them,I also added It. seasoning cuz I will be using it in pasta recipes, I also add 2 TB sp of sugar, just cuz I like the favor and I used beef broth I brought it to a boil and than simmered for 3 hrs without a cover it thickens alot better with out. It is thick like chili right now, perfect!!! Its still cooling so not sure how many cups I've got But I will make more... Thanks for sharing this recipe.. Love It
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
people people!!!!this just needs to simmer with the lid on longer until you reach the desired consistancy! Great place to start an italian dinner, just throw in any other veggies, mushrooms, ets..I like to add several jalapeno peppers finely minced. Use on fresh pasta you wont be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is easy, & great---partly because it is FRESH, & because the sodium content is so very low! I use just a bit of sea salt. We love red bell peppers, so sometimes, I use those in addition or instead of the green bell peppers---adds a great flavor to tomatoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This recipe, Fresh Tomato Sauce, is the basic 'crudo' Italian tomato sauce. I don't use peppers unless it goes with the rest of the meal I've planned. First I blanched the tomatoes, cored and removed the skins. I put them in a large pot, whole with the oil and gently mash them until they're 'crude cut'. I added several bay leaves, basil, Italian seasonings, the onion and garlic, 1/4 cup RED wine and two pinches of white sugar, and salt to taste. Let simmer an hour. Taste, adjust salt/spices, and add tomato paste as needed, to thicken or enhance flavor. Now add Italian sausage links or meatballs, simmer another half hour and serve. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
A great go to recipe. You can also add some firm fresh fish for a great seafood stew over rice. old cajun recipe adds a little hot sause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States