Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
No thank you. I quartered the cilantro and it still tasted too strong. I will not use this recipe ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I'm being generous with my two star rating for this recipe if prepared as written. It's very good with significant tweaking, but by the time you get done doing so it isn't even the same recipe. First off, I cut waaaay back on the serranos - obviously. And I used jalapenos rather than serranos. I wanted to be able to taste this, and you wouldn't be able to if your mouth was numb. Secondly, in my view 1/2 c. each of both onion and cilantro and onion was far too much. It tasted like, well, cilantro and onion. I needed to add more tomato (which I seeded and chopped) to get the balance I thought was right. This recipe, then, is a good reference tool if you're wondering what the ingredients in fresh salsa are - but not for measurements. Make this recipe as written at your own risk. Make a couple of reasonable changes and you've got a fine salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was easy to preapre, and delicious. I did make a few changes to the reecipe. I knew that 5 serrano chiles would make it to hot for us, so I cut down on those. I added jalapinoes intead of the serranos. Also added in avacoda and garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Amazingly tasty, especially with a clove of garlic and half a red bell pepper chopped up in there. As others have noted, though, there is NO way I could handle this with 5 serrano chiles. I used 3 and it's already about as spicy as I can handle. I'd recommend 2-3 chiles for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
this was really good although I don't like super hot stuff so I left out the peppers but added a sprinkle of chili powder I also added some lemon juice and garlic. It would have gotten 5 out of 5 stars but this is in no way salsa it is definitely pico de gallo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delicious and easy. The fresher the ingredients, the better. After reading reviews suggesting a clove of garlic, I decided to substitute salt for garlic salt. Was incredibly tasty. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I love this recipe. Its quick and easy and delicious. I add about one clove of garlic and about 3 different colored bell pepers. I also use all the serrano chiles but add 1 diced mango to this and it helps keep it mild
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diva Nay
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This salsa was delicious! I only made a small batch because I was using up the rest of some roma grape tomatoes. I only had jalopeno on hand, so I used that instead of the chiles. But it was still fantastic and tasted great on top of an omelet. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva Nay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was amazing! However, I did not use 5 serrano peppers. I am from the Caribbean and love, love, love spicy hot food (I even make my own hot pepper sauce), but 5 serrano peppers is way too much, in my opinion. I second what another reviewer said: taste as you add the peppers. Other than that, the recipe was great. I actually used the salsa for some homemade chicken burritos and it complimented the chicken and rice I made perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I liked this alot but brian didn't like the big chunks of tomatoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States