Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This is so yummy, I could make and then eat a whole batch by myself! My tomato bushes went hog-wild this year, so I've been looking for ways to use them and this is one of the best I've found. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
excellent, but one and half Serranos was enough heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
To those who think that this recipe is to hot remember that chili peppers have a different heat level in different region of the country for example I lived in California for a few years and ate jalapeños every day and they were perfectly hot for me then moved to Indiana and the same peppers there are insanely hot, this goes for serranos also. Just goes to show that peppers from other areas can be hotter or milder. Also the smaller the pepper the hotter it will be. If unsure cut the pepper in half cross ways and touch lightly to your lip you will then know the heat level of the pepper in question.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I've made this recipe many times and it's excellent. So fresh and not overdone. Pure, clean, fresh flavour. The only thing I adjust is 5 serrano peppers is WAY too much. I usually make it with 2. Once I used 3 and we could barely eat it, and we like hot. Also, you MUST remove the seeds from the peppers, and I strongly suggest wearing disposable gloves when chopping the peppers. Serrano chiles are required. Jalapenos do not give the same flavour or heat. Does not keep long. Best if consumed the day it is made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Delicious and easy! As others suggested, I added a clove of garlic, and I skipped the cilantro because I generally dislike the flavor. I got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ApplePi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This is exactly the ratio of ingredients I have been looking for! I've been tinkering with my salsa recipe for a couple of years now - and apparently the jalapenos were a big part of the problem. The serranos make all the difference - although, I can't quite bring myself to try the full 5, 2.5 works just fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Oh my, this is GREAT! 6-Stars. Thank you so much. It was much tastier the next morning after chilling overninght. I added a tablespoon of olive oil and a teaspoon of salt and one of sugar and cut back a little on the cilantro (personal taste) and used ten roma tomatoes. These additions mellows it out a bit and the oil enhances the flavors. It still has a great bite. - What a great stand-alone or base recipe for customizing. Lots of liquid. Great to chase down your morning eggs with. - Next batch I'll seed the tomatoes and use jalapenos for a milder version. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
good basic recipe. You wouldn't want to use all those peppers. One was enough for us and you want to deseed it first. For something extra put 1 or 2 chipotle peppers in too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
IF you are a fan of fresh cilantro, then I suppose you will like this recipe. I used all fresh ingredients, including tomatoes from my own garden, however, the fresh cilantro ruined it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States