Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I would say this is more of a peeko de gah-yo. This was really good. But I was really wanting to make salsa. If your looking for peeko this is a perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Very, very good fresh salsa. It is missing something, though, and I can't put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I added a clove of garlic and a little cumin. Pretty Tasty. However I feel like it's still missing a little something to give it a zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I used 2 jalapenos instead of serrano peppers and it was still too hot for my taste. I recommend adding peppers one at a time, then testing it before adding more. Other than that, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Shipley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
AWESOME!! Just finished making my 3rd batch of this salsa in as many days, and this time I made a triple batch since it disappears so quickly. Even my kids eat it up (although some of them have to drink a little milk because of the spiciness) I make the recipe exactly as is except for a few things: Though the recipe doesn't call for it, I peel & seed the tomatoes. I also used a little less salt & a little less cilantro because ths was my husband's preference. My husband also requested that I not take any of the seeds or pulp out of the peppers, so I just cut them up into a small dice including the entire pepper (it is spicy, but we love it this way) This salsa tastes just as good as that which we always bought from the local Mexican restaurant. It is somewhat time-consuming to cut everything into a small dice, but the yumminess is worth it. I used to just make my salsa without a recipe, so it never tasted exactly the same from one time to another. It's great to have such a delicious recipe so that I know that it will be fabulous every single time. Thanks so much bluebayou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
great & easy salsa! i had taco night at my place last night and it went FAST!!!!! i made enough for 6 people & used about 12 serrano peppers for extra kick. Also added another teaspoon of lime. i'm actually heading to the store to get more tomatoes & serrano peppers so i can make more to go along with the left over taco meat! woo-hoo! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rani C.C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I have made this salsa over and over. We cannot get enough of it. My mother in law has even threaten me to save some for her when she visits in October. Guess I will have to freeze some for her. The only thing I added was garlic and tomato paste like one viewer said. LUV IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Garvin-Owsley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was good, though I had to change some things. I made the first batch following the recipe except I added garlic and substituted jalapeno peppers, as they were plentiful at the Farmer's Market. It was way to much cilantro and I love cilantro. This time I used only a 1/4 cup. Also, I needed to use only two peppers and this had plenty of bite. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
its great so fresh tasting i added red onion as well yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I love things hot but this calls for too many of the serrano chilies. I just use one and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States