Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This salsa was excellent and received rave reviews from my guests. I used jalapeno peppers because I didn't want it to be too hot. I also sweetened it with pineapple as someone else suggested. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Overall this is very good and fresh tasting. I used 1 hot pepper (not sure what it was) and added some garlic. super and also very pretty when using multicolored tomatoes, i.e. yellow, purple, green (ripe, such as Aunt Ruby's German green). wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
5 serrano's are way too much heat! I used 10 slices of jarred jalapeno's and that was a bit much for us. I will reduce it to 7 next time. This recipe has just the right amounts of the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I spoon it onto homemade bread and I am instantly transported to Nirvana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WoundedEgo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I would say this is more of a peeko de gah-yo. This was really good. But I was really wanting to make salsa. If your looking for peeko this is a perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Very, very good fresh salsa. It is missing something, though, and I can't put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I added a clove of garlic and a little cumin. Pretty Tasty. However I feel like it's still missing a little something to give it a zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I used 2 jalapenos instead of serrano peppers and it was still too hot for my taste. I recommend adding peppers one at a time, then testing it before adding more. Other than that, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
AWESOME!! Just finished making my 3rd batch of this salsa in as many days, and this time I made a triple batch since it disappears so quickly. Even my kids eat it up (although some of them have to drink a little milk because of the spiciness) I make the recipe exactly as is except for a few things: Though the recipe doesn't call for it, I peel & seed the tomatoes. I also used a little less salt & a little less cilantro because ths was my husband's preference. My husband also requested that I not take any of the seeds or pulp out of the peppers, so I just cut them up into a small dice including the entire pepper (it is spicy, but we love it this way) This salsa tastes just as good as that which we always bought from the local Mexican restaurant. It is somewhat time-consuming to cut everything into a small dice, but the yumminess is worth it. I used to just make my salsa without a recipe, so it never tasted exactly the same from one time to another. It's great to have such a delicious recipe so that I know that it will be fabulous every single time. Thanks so much bluebayou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
great & easy salsa! i had taco night at my place last night and it went FAST!!!!! i made enough for 6 people & used about 12 serrano peppers for extra kick. Also added another teaspoon of lime. i'm actually heading to the store to get more tomatoes & serrano peppers so i can make more to go along with the left over taco meat! woo-hoo! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rani C.C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States