Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great easy recipe, very tasty. Not hot like I was expecting. Just a mixture of Serrano and Jelepeno chili's. Also used a little red union. Went down great at our dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
love this salsa!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I guess it was ok. The veggies tasted fresh, but overall there wasn't that much flavor in this salsa. Some more ingredients are needed to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
It's pretty good. I might add a little green pepper and garlic next time. And maaaybe a Tbsp of virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I love salsa like this, like pico de gallo style, so already you can't go wrong here. I didn't add nearly as many chiles either. One thing I always add to my tomatoes is balsamic vinegar, out of preference. I don't like the sweetness of tomatoes at all, so I've come to always pair the two. Because of that, I cut the lime juice about in half (a little over a teaspoon). With this though, it's important to have really red, juicy tomatoes, since they are very much the raw star. There's no concentrating of flavor with boiling here. Anyway, great salsa! It's fresh, beautiful in color, and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Take the time drain the tomatoes for an hour or so before mixing with other ingredients (you'll be amazed how much liquid comes off with no loss of flavor). It makes such a difference and the salsa doesn't end up as 'watery'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dansville, New York, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I tried this with red onions and it was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ce99fan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nokesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very good. However, we like our salsa a bit more blended, so we blended half the recipe, and then mixed it in the other half. I had huge, very hot peppers, so we used one. We added a little more salt, minced garlic, and a tiny bit of suger. Surprisingly the surgar really rounded the flavors out. It made a perfect spaghetti jar full. I may make this for gifts some time. Very fresh and tasty. Thanks, Bluebayou!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Never used Serrano Chiles... didn't realize they were hotter then Jalapenos. No indication on this recipe that this was a HOT salsa. :( "Fresh Tomato Salsa" led me to think mild/medium for some reason. :/ Got as far as chopping the Serrano chiles, starting coughing non-stop and thought I was having an allergic reaction or something! Bailed out of making this, put everything away in the fridge. Didn't even realize these chiles were HOT until licking some applesauce off of my finger later and thats after washing my hands! Hands are burning now... must have took a bit to kick in.... wish I knew how to get the serrano chiles off my hands... soap isn't working. God forbid I accidentally itch my eye. Horrible Experience!! This recipe needs warnings for those of us who have not worked with these before! >:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikesGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
We've made this to top our tacos and it was wonders! It's so easy and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States