Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
We call thix "pico de gallo" in Texas. It's delicious as is or you can add most any type of pepper from Poblano to Habanero to control the hear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Alpine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
AMAZING! The version I make which is very similar is MORE THAN 5 STARS! So I gave it five stars even though I made a few adjustments: I have kids who don't like things too spicy, so I haven't made it with the hot peppers. I added chopped sweet yellow pepper, and as for the lime, I squeezed it into a little bowl and stirred in a little honey (1/2 tsp.). Amazing reviews from everyone who eats it. One last thing: it says 10 minutes prep time, but I find it takes much longer than that to chop everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
simply delicious and so easy to make!!! I did add one clove of garlic and chopped up some jalapenos to make it mildly spicy, thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I love this stuff! Ever since coming across this recipe, I have been using it for several years, especially with grilled chicken and fish. A couple days ago I made a batch with fresh garlic scapes. Last night I was eating it out of the bowl with a spoon. Tonight it will go with sea bass. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is now a family favorite, and I live in San Antonio where we know what good salsa tastes like! I added a little garlic to the original recipe. NOTE: 1 Serrano pepper is just fine ... 5 is INSANE. NOTE2: If you want mild salsa, without loosing the flavor, take the seeds out of the serrano pepper before chopping and adding to the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
My husband said, "This is a great pico." I said, "It's salsa cruda." He said, "In that case, it's not that great." I more or less concur with his assessment. As a dip for chips it's missing something (note: I think replacing the salt with an equal amount of chicken bouillon would improve it. Not terribly authentic, though). As a topping for tacos it's perfect. So as a compromise, I'm going to put it in "Black Bean and Salsa Soup", from this site, for dinner tonight. Thanks for the recipe! (Note: I whizzed mine in the food processor to get the pieces super fine. This makes it be over-juicy so you might want to drain it if that isn't ok for you. Before I put it in the food processor it was a fine texture, not too wet, not too dry.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I love this basic recipe for salsa. I dont add all the peppers since my DH cant handle it. This last time I made it I didnt have any peppers so I added chopped pickled jalapenos. It gave it a differnt flavor but it was still good. This is my "go to" recipe for fresh salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
You have to try this! Delicious!! I followed recipe exactly except I only used 1 Serrano Chile and it was plenty. I can't imagine using 5! We used it as a dip for chips and also added to our chicken quesadillas. It was even better the next day. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beechgrove, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This salsa is yummo! I added 1 chopped avocado, 1 tsp minced garlic, and a little bit of vinegar and black pepper. We used this on top of home-made nachos with some sour cream... mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States