Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Actually, this is a fantastic salsa. The reason I gave it 3 stars? Because 5 serrano peppers is INSANE and I wanted to make sure others knew that before they prepared this. Not knowing anything about serrano peppers, we lost all sensation in our heads when we ate this salsa for the first time. And believe me, we eat habaneros every day so we know hot. Perhaps you are not supposed to use the seeds, but the recipe doesn't say that. In any event, we have found that 1 and 1/2 serranos is fine when using the whole pepper. If you have something to prove, try 2. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2504 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This recipe is good. It needs at least 1 large fresh clove of garlic though. Also it is crucial that you get quality ingredients. Tomatoes from the garden are best but romas from the store work well also. I used a hothouse variety from the store the second time I made this and they were mealy. Beware that this salsa makes a lot of liquid in the bowl. If you like it great if not use in a soup or on veggies. THIS RECIPE DOESN'T NEED 5 CHILIS. I USED 1 SERRANO CHILI AND GOT PLENTY OF HEAT FROM THAT. TASTE YOUR SALSA AS YOU ADD CHILIS TO GET A COMFORTABLE HEAT LEVEL. Also, your heat level will go up or down depending on how cold your salsa is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1010 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This recipe also tastes great with a clove of chopped garlic added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This recipe as written is what I have known as pico de gallo. I added 2 Tbsp. tomato paste (use ketchup for sweeter) to make salsa. Excellant as pico or salsa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Excellent salsa! It is the bomb! I got tons of compliments on it. It's so fresh and AUTHENTIC. Don't forget the salt, though. I forgot the first time and it ended up just being a bowl of chopped tomatoes. :) This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Very good salsa!! I like the chuncky salsa and my husband does not. I put some in the blender and we were both happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Excellent!! I used this recipe which was very good. I also used it as a template for my own by changing things to suit my specific tastes and it has opened the new world of homemade salsa. Add the salt last, taste to test before and after, it really brings out the flavors and puts it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Delicious!! I used 2 seeded peppers and it wasn't really spicy at all. Next time I will use all 5. Awesome flavor and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I added some diced avacado and my family loves this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States