Fresh Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was great- but only because I read the reviews that said to use less serrano peppers. I used TWO, and it was plenty hot and spicy-- any more than that and it would have been inedible. But with that adjustment, its a pretty much perfect recipe. I did add 1 clove of chopped garlic also, but thats just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristy
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Delicious! Added some green peppers, and garlic & this came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I had a million tomatoes from the garden that I wanted to use up, so I used probably a dozen. To compensate, I used half of a large onion, almost a whole bunch of cilantro, 2 tsp. salt, juice from 2 whole limes, and instead of the serranos, I used 2 jalapenos. A very fresh and summery recipe! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I used 2 jalapeno peppers instead of the serranos and I included a sprinkling of the seeds to give it a little heat. It was SO fresh and delicious!! My husband and I gobbled this up in no time. I can't wait to serve this to guests and will probably double the recipe when I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This is a delicious salsa. This is the first time I've made it so I was pleased that it turned out so well. Like some others suggested I did add 1 clove of garlic (but we're kinda garlic nuts!) and only used 2 chilies. One tip I can offer: Make sure to wear gloves when you're handling chilies. I didn't and now my hands are still burning two days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is a great recipe, it reminds me of a traditional Mexican Pico de gallo. If you want it more saucy just add tomato sauce. Yummy- mine is 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
GREAT 'pico' type salsa. The only change I would make: add one pepper at a time to get to the desired HEAT level. 5 peppers would have been TOO much. Otherwise, perfect blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Andover, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is great. Very fresh. I love the onion and cilantro and it is a great way to use my many summer tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Great Recipe. I added one can of diced tomatoes w/chilis, a little S&P, EVOO, & dash of Red wine Vinegar. Sooo tasty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I did not have any serrano chilies on hand and subsituted 3 jalapeno peppers (de seeded) and it made a nice medium salsa. 3 peppers was spicy enough for our "medium spicy"tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States