Fresh Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This was delicious Karen. I skipped the vinegar and used olive oil only and let the salad sit on the counter so the salt could draw out all of the wonderful juices. When you've finished the salad make sure you have some nice crusty bread to soak the great garlic infused liquid. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
YUM-O, It was perfect complement to Surf & Turf - Gulf Coast Style also found on allrecipes.com Perfect blend of flavors! This was like tabouleh with out the bulgar wheat. I used an orange bell pepper instead of green, and green onions instead of regular onion, rather than vinegar, I used lemon juice. I used some Cavenders seasoning instead of salt, it's a greek seasoning salt. I only used one garlic clove and mixed it in a small container with the oil and lemon juice and seasoning. I let it sit in it's own juices and chill for about an hour before serving. Wow, the flavors really popped! The only thing we would do different next time, or when using the leftovers, add some feta cheese. Great for lunch the next day! We will definately make this one again. This is our new summer favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
Delicious, healthy and perfect for summer. I was able to go right out and pick most of the ingredients from my garden. In our household, we enjoyed it even more by using sweet red bells instead of green. Also, tastes even better when mixed with crumbled feta or blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
I made this salad for a bridal shower and it was a huge hit. I used green onions and yellow bell peppers for color. I also added sliced black olives and feta cheese for more flavor. Didn't have white wine vinegar so used rice wine vinegar and it seemed to be OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This is a wonderful light and flavorful dish! I was feeding a crowd, so I doubled the recipe. I also used plum tomatoes instead of regular, as well as added some olive oil and crumbled feta. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
This salad is the perfect summer food! I just made it and it is fabulous. Fat free too, although adding some olive oil would probably be pretty good too! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Easy to make and delicious, my whole family loved it.But I cut the garlic down to about 1 teas. and used 4 green onions. I used dried basil and parsley equal to the amounts of fresh (I know I shouldn't do this, but in a pinch the results are still very good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Great fresh taste. I have also added the olive oil Italian dressing and marinated in the refrigerator prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This is a good, light summer salad. I used less onion, left out the bell pepper, balsamic vinegar and dried herbs. I'm sure this would be a five star recipe with fresh parsley and basil, had I had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
You must like garlic to enjoy this fresh tomato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States