Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This is a great pie that I have made frequently! I have made a few changes to make it more flavorful. I use the refrigerated pie crust that you unroll into the pie pan, just prick it a lot on the bottom. I also add chopped bacon (I usually cook up a whole package, whatever my husband doesn't steal from the plate goes into the pie, usually about 3/4 of a pound.) I like to use a 4 cheese Italian mixture you can get from the store of parmesean, romano, asaigo, and aged provolone. Use very fresh tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was delicious. I've made this several times and have tweaked it a bit. I pre-bake my crust a bit longer, pre-cooked the onions w/garlic. I sprinkle some Monterey Jack cheese, (I prefer this to Morzarella)to the bottom of the pre-baked crust and then added some spinach leaves so the crust doesn't get too soggy. It's important to drain the tomatoes well. The topping is what makes this taste so good so I double the amount. This is a good way to use up those home grown tomatoes! Thanks for the recipe, Britt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
What a wonderful treat! To cut down fat calories, I lined a dish with a couple of flour tortillas instead of a pie crust. This too eliminated any prior baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
This looked really interesting to me, so I decided to give it a try and bring it to a party this past weekend. Because there were a lot of non mayo and onion eaters I left those two ingredients out. Instead, I roasted a head of garlic, squeezed it out, mashed it and spread it on the bottom of the pie crust. I used a combo of Fontina and parm cheeses on the bottom of the crust and also over the top of the tomatoes. To make life a little easier, I baked it in a tart pan with a removeable bottom and sliced with a pizza cutter. When it came out, half the guests thought it was pizza and the other half thought it was a fritatta. Whatever you prefer to call it, the pie was delicious and gone in minutes. Thanks Britt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was a good way to use tomotoes. I followed the suggestions of prior reviews and made the following changes: *After pre-baking the crust, I sprinkled the bottom w/cheese *I diced the tomatos (and drained them well) rather than slice them for eating ease (same w/onions) *I mixed italien seasoning in the mayo It did not take me nearly as many tomatoes as it called for. It was a hit w/our guests; they request it everytime we eat with them, but it was a little rich for my taste. It's def something you only want a sliver of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This needs to cook longer because the onions were too raw. Perhaps cooking the onions beforehand and then putting into crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I made this for a brunch. I sauteed the onions in butter before putting in the pie shell. I also used Roma tomatoes which have less water in them so I didn't have a problem with them making the dish watery. I got many compliments on the dish. I think it would be good with basil instead of oregano too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2000
Great way to use up an abundant tomato crop. I will make it again but next time I will seed the tomatoes and bake at a higher temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
THIS TOMATO PIE RECIPE IS GREAT. I USE THIS RECIPE FOR AN ANNUAL TOMATO FESTIVAL I GET NOTHING BUT GREAT RESPONSE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
My friends and family LOVE this recipe, they always ask me to make it when the tomatos come in season. It is easy and delicous. It is also very good with cooked, crumbled bacon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States