Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by herm
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
GREAT way to use all your harvested tomato's. My husband loved this! I followed everyone's suggestions to tweak the pie and it came out spectacular! I am making pies for all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Very good! I don't like mayo so I substituted sour cream, added some italian spices. I suggest letting the tomatoes sit a bit so liquid drains off before adding them to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Delicious! I made this with home-grown orange heirloom tomatoes and half a vidalia onion. I followed the directions as written and even my daughter, who hates tomatoes, liked it! It was a little watery, but you can't really account for the water content of vegetables. I don't think, overall, the wateriness was a detraction. With the mayo, it reminded me of a BLT; I may add some bacon bits to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Made this twice. The first time I made the following alterations based on previous reviewers: dice onions and tomatoes; saute onions with garlic; add italian seasoning to mayo; sprinkle cheese on pie crust first. While incredibly delicious, the presentation was less than stellar - it was runny. The next day however, it had congealed and was again delicious, but not too pretty. I made it again for a friend who recenlty had a baby and added spinach on the bottom in an effort to "soak up" the moisture. I'm not sure how it turned out aesthetically, but they seemed to have loved it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
YUM! This recipe was a big hit. I added a little bacon as someone else suggested. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Wow this is really good, with a few changes, I sauted the onions before adding to pie and really drain those tomatoes. This pie is not good leftover, because it is way to soggy from the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
It has potential, but it needs some modifications before I can call it a good dish. I think there was too much mayo/cheese mixture. I didn't need even half of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was just amazing. I cut back on the amount of tomatos and didn't use any sour cream and it was still just fantastic. I'm going to make it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was very good. I added some garlic and chopped the onion. I also added cheese to the bottom. I used two larged tomatos and this filled the pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Love,love,love. I have made this twice now, with the last of my garden, fresh tomatoes. The second time I added bacon, just cause I knew my husband would like it. It was just as wonderful following the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States