Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This has potential, but even based on the minor changes I made to the recipe I found this not very tasty. First off, I used a combination of shallots and onions. I first cooked these in a little butter based on other peoples suggestions. I used both yellow and red tomatoes seeded and chopped up. I used dried oregano as that is what I had on hand. First I prebaked my crust. I them put some cheese in the bottom before putting in the tomatoes. I don't think I had the full amount of parm. cheese for the topping (I didn't measure, just used up what I had) so I added some extra mozerella. I did not like the topping. It was too strong. I can't quite place my finger on it. Maybe there was just too much mayo for my liking. If I were ever to make this again I believe I would cut down on the mayo and add spinach and bacon per other folks suggestions. I'm thinking this would then resemble a BLT. But as I made it I cannot give it better rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
My husband loves this. Play around with a variety of fresh herbs until you find the combination that works for you. Carmelizing the onions before you put them in the pie makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I prepared this exactly as instructed, and made several discoveries: the crust needs to pre-bake longer. Also, drain the tomatoes very well, or you're going to have a soggy crust. You won't use 7 ripe tomatoes unless you're using Romas. The onions should be cooked before adding to the pie. They come out too crunchy otherwise. 20-25 minutes was not long enough at 350 degrees, I baked it for 30 minutes at 375 and except for the crust, it was perfect. That being said, I loved it except for the onions. It was extremely easy and extremely tasty. My boyfriend loved it and insisted on leftovers for dinner the next night. He added some grilled italian sausage to the leftovers and it was even better. I think the next time I make it I will follow recommendations on here and add bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking_with_gas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Made a few changes here or there since I didn't have a few of the ingredients. Just used the ingrediets I had available. I mixed in a little cream of chicken soup to the mayo to add a little something extra. It smelled great....I did't taste...these were given as gifts to Grandad and Father-in-law as a thank you for giving me tons of fresh tomatoes from their personal gardens this summer. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Wow! A real winner!! I made this for a family get together and everyone loved it. I had 4 requests for the recipe. I did change it according to many of the suggestions. I prebaked the pie crust according to the recipe. I sauteed the onions before layering them on the bottom of the crust. I sliced the tomatoes and layered them on several paper towels and allowed them to drain for 45 minutes before layering them in the pie. Lastly, I mixed half sour cream and half mayonnaise along with the parm cheese and an Italian Blend shredded cheese rather than plain mozzarella. My blend had mozzarella, parm, asiago, provolone and romano cheeses in it. After baking (mine took 30 minutes rather than the 20-25 in the recipe) I hardly had any exess water to drain that some others complained about. I think it was due to letting the tomatoes drain on the paper towels prior to adding them to the crust. I hope this helps! This is a great recipe for a pot luck. Also good to make and have for lunch. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
really good and easy! I layered tomatoes over the top of the level of the pie shell. Fresh basil and ripe tomatoes are the key!! My husband said that I could open a restaurant with just this and sweet tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is a very good recipe. However, after making it a few times I realized that I needed to start draining the tomatoes in a colander for ten minutes before assembling the pie to cut down on the sogginess of the crust. Basically, I slice the tomatoes while the oven preheats and let them drain while the pie crust is cooking. I also layer the sliced tomatoes in the piecrust with onion and the fresh herbs so it all cooks together rather than adding the herbs after the pie is cooked. With a little extra cheese (can't go wrong there!) this pie is Heaven on Earth during the summer time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Wow this is amazing! I didn't use fresh herbs, instead I used Penzy's Pizza seasoning and this was sooooo good! Also good using sliced Provolone...just sayin :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Fabulous! Didn't change a thing! Great way to use up a lot of ripe tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was great. I love tomatoes. Instead of 3/4 c mayo I now do half mayo half sour cream. I didnt like the mayo taste in my pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dookie007

Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States