Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
My husband & I love fresh tomatoes & I try to find new recipes for them every year. This pie was delicious! I did not have the fresh basil & oregano, so stirred a teaspoon of Italian seasoning into the mayonnaise mixture. This is a definite keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
We've renamed this "Crack Pie' - I always end up eating more than half the pie myself! SOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dobermanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Wonderful flavor. The size of the tomatoes will vary the amount needed for this recipe. Next time I make this I will let the tomatoes drain a while before placing in the pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made this for the first time and loved it. I will reduce the amount of mayo I use in the future. I also added shredded cheddar cheese to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lyman, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is good. I recieved some nice compliments, however I have a much simpler recipe for this and I prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very good! Taste was great and a pretty presentation. Super when it is hot ;right out of the oven is when it really tastes so good! I did reheat some of the slices and they were good, but it is so good when it is fresh from the oven. I added bacon to the second pie as someone had suggested and my family really liked the taste the bacon added. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Fabulous! The first time I made this I did just as directed. The second time, I sauteed the onions first and I really liked that too. Both ways are great. Love this recipe, and 2 of my kids even ask for it. Can't get better than that. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I loved this pie. I did cook the onions first and added just a little bell pepper about 2 tablespoons. and 2 peices of crumbled bacon. It was so good my daughter who doesn't like tomatoes liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I used many of the variations listed by other chefs. I brushed the pie bottom with egg whites and felt like it paid off by creating a sweetness to the bottom layer and helping the pie's integrity. I subbed the mayo for sour cream, and had to put in a little more than 3/4 cup. I also went ahead and put the basil and oregano right into the pie, rather than garnishing on top. Using a food processor in less than a minute I shredded a block of Parmesan cheese and it really made the topping have great flavor. There was a little liquid at bottom, despite my attempts to drain tomatoes as best as possible. I will make again fore sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Drained with salt as suggested and added flour as well. Turned out excellent. Great recipe. Served to Northerners who had never heard of Tomato Pie....they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States