Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made this for the first time and loved it. I will reduce the amount of mayo I use in the future. I also added shredded cheddar cheese to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lyman, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is good. I recieved some nice compliments, however I have a much simpler recipe for this and I prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very good! Taste was great and a pretty presentation. Super when it is hot ;right out of the oven is when it really tastes so good! I did reheat some of the slices and they were good, but it is so good when it is fresh from the oven. I added bacon to the second pie as someone had suggested and my family really liked the taste the bacon added. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Fabulous! The first time I made this I did just as directed. The second time, I sauteed the onions first and I really liked that too. Both ways are great. Love this recipe, and 2 of my kids even ask for it. Can't get better than that. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I loved this pie. I did cook the onions first and added just a little bell pepper about 2 tablespoons. and 2 peices of crumbled bacon. It was so good my daughter who doesn't like tomatoes liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I used many of the variations listed by other chefs. I brushed the pie bottom with egg whites and felt like it paid off by creating a sweetness to the bottom layer and helping the pie's integrity. I subbed the mayo for sour cream, and had to put in a little more than 3/4 cup. I also went ahead and put the basil and oregano right into the pie, rather than garnishing on top. Using a food processor in less than a minute I shredded a block of Parmesan cheese and it really made the topping have great flavor. There was a little liquid at bottom, despite my attempts to drain tomatoes as best as possible. I will make again fore sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Drained with salt as suggested and added flour as well. Turned out excellent. Great recipe. Served to Northerners who had never heard of Tomato Pie....they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this for a side dish for a casual dinner with friends. Its nice because you can make it in advance and then heat it up when needed. I do agree the onions would be better if they were sauteed and I will do that next time. Also, I coated the sliced tomatos in Flour for a few hours before cooking as to help the pie not be too watery and it was the perfect consistancy. Everyone liked it alot and its now going to be a staple for lunches/dinners here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I have been making a version of this tomato pie for several years and find it to be amazing BUT only when made with fresh home-grown tomatoes. My variation includes several changes, the first being that I use TWO refrigerated crusts that I kind of piece together so there is a nice ring around the edges and enough thickness at the bottom. I also use a whole lot more onion that I chop and caramelize before adding to pie, alternated with tomato layers. I also use Italian blend cheese (Mozzarella, Asiago, Provolone and Parmesan) along with the Parmesan. It is important to drain the tomatoes extremely well and then pat with paper toweling to get out any possible extra moisture. Don't skimp on the freshly ground black pepper! I grind it liberally over each layer. The most important change I made is to liberally sprinkle Italian bread crumbs into the bottom of the crust. This pie produces a great deal of moisture and the crumbs will absorb any excess. On several occasions I've put a middle layer of browned Italian sausage. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
So easy..so Delicious!!! Might try making a greek version with spinach and feta!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States