Fresh Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
No one in my family liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I was looking for a recipe to use up a lot of home grown tomatoes and we thought this was great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
It was good, but the topping had too much of a mayo taste. Maybe I'll try mixing in some sour cream or something similar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is a great recipe. I add 1 tsp sugar to tomatoes and bake about 15 minutes longer than it calls for. My husband loves this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Surprisingly good! I used 5 tomatoes and removed the seeds and allowed them to drain in a sieve while I baked the crust. I increased the cheeses to 1/2 cup each. I tried it with fresh basil, and preferred it plain. If you don't have the fresh herbs you should still enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This recipe is out of this world. I did make one major modification, which was to turn this into a pizza using a pre-grilled pizza crust (made by grilling on low - pizza dough brushed with olive oil & sprinkled with garlic powder); then broiling in the oven to finish cooking. Even though I changed the purpose of this recipe, I am still rating this a 5, because everyone needs to know how wonderful the filling in this recipe is, and how well the flavors blend. I'm certain the recipe with the pastry crust would be just as fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
All I have to say is WOW!! This was a super recipe. I was trying to find different ways to use up my tomatoes from my garden. It was a process but well worth it. I sliced and drained the tomatoes using 1/2 roll of paper towels for several hours. I also carmelized 1 large red onion and layered the whole thing using bacon bits and fresh basil. I really think the bacon did alot for this recipe. Will definately make again as soon as the rest of my tomatoes ripen. Oh, I did cut down on the mayo to 1/2c and I think it was perfect. Great flavors in this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I was very impressed with this simple, yet delicious recipe. I think the quality of the tomato is key; I used deep red Roma's from the local farmers market, which I think made all the difference. Will definitely put this dish into my meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
really good. i took advice of others and covered the bottom with parmesan cheese. sweated the onions and drained the tomatoes really well. i added a couple of tbsp. of pesto to the mayonnaise mixture. this added a lovely flavor and nice color. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This was a very tasty recipe. I read the reviews and made a few adjustments. I added some garlic and bacon bits. I did not sautee the onions. I cooked the pie at a lower temperture for a longer length of time while the rest of my meal was cooking. The onions had just a crunch to them. Instead of fresh herbs I used a teaspoon of dried herbs and added it into the mayo mixture. I live in the south so the mayo of choice is "Dukes". Maybe this mayo makes a difference in the taste. Overall I though it was a very good recipe. I will make this recipe again and I will share it with my friends and family. Kathy Robertson, NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States