Fresh Tomato Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I make something very similar to this recipe and I absolutely love it!! Rather than use vegetable oil, I use olive oil. I also use fresh basil instead of dried and I use fresh plum tomatoes from the garden, seeded and diced. I saute some garlic in olive oil, add the diced tomatoes, salt, pepper, some of the basil and let it cook for a few minutes (not too long). Then I toss penne with the tomatoes, garlic and basil and add the remaining basil. It is a great summer pasta dish using fresh ingredients from the garden. I just made it again last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Made this as recommended by JCC, cooking ingredients in a pan before mixing with noodles. The kids loved it more than regular spaghetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I am Italian, so I really liked this version of "macaroni & oil"! I added some salt and garlic powder to the tomato toss and used whole wheat angel hair pasta, also a little more oil and heated it all through. Served it with parmesan and ate the whole thing myself! Excellent, thanks for a nice dish to use up garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Very simple, easy and tasty! It's very mild, not overwhelming with either herb or spice. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
double the garlic. good basic tomato pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was very good. I sort of modified how all the ingredients came together but used all of them. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsymonds

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Love, love, LOVE this recipe. I used whole wheat spaghetti, sautéed the tomatoes for a few min, added white cooking wine and cut back on the oil. I also took out the garlic after the pasta was done, chopped it and added it to the tomatoes with some garlic powder. I sprinkled it with some fat-free parmesan "topping" and it was great. So quick, and so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
It's easy and quick to make. I used a tbs of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
We've done this and enjoyed it as well. We have at times also added diced mozzarella and diced chicken, with a touch of parmesan available on the table. Yum! -- After adding the mozz, place a lid over the bowl or pan for just a couple of minutes or so to allow the cheese to soften a touch. Almost as simple, and really good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This is one of my favorite "end of the summer when tomatoes are abundant and delicious" recipes. I use more than one tomato per 8 ounces of pasta, lots of garlic, and fresh basil. Leftover sauce is superb on grilled chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States