Fresh Tomato Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I make something very similar to this recipe and I absolutely love it!! Rather than use vegetable oil, I use olive oil. I also use fresh basil instead of dried and I use fresh plum tomatoes from the garden, seeded and diced. I saute some garlic in olive oil, add the diced tomatoes, salt, pepper, some of the basil and let it cook for a few minutes (not too long). Then I toss penne with the tomatoes, garlic and basil and add the remaining basil. It is a great summer pasta dish using fresh ingredients from the garden. I just made it again last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Love, love, LOVE this recipe. I used whole wheat spaghetti, sautéed the tomatoes for a few min, added white cooking wine and cut back on the oil. I also took out the garlic after the pasta was done, chopped it and added it to the tomatoes with some garlic powder. I sprinkled it with some fat-free parmesan "topping" and it was great. So quick, and so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I am Italian, so I really liked this version of "macaroni & oil"! I added some salt and garlic powder to the tomato toss and used whole wheat angel hair pasta, also a little more oil and heated it all through. Served it with parmesan and ate the whole thing myself! Excellent, thanks for a nice dish to use up garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This is one of my favorite "end of the summer when tomatoes are abundant and delicious" recipes. I use more than one tomato per 8 ounces of pasta, lots of garlic, and fresh basil. Leftover sauce is superb on grilled chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Not bad. I used cherry tomatoes, halved, but otherwise followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very simple ingredients but very good results! I had everything on hand so I tried this one. Used olive oil and garlic powder. Thanks! Added some grated parmesan to it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Quick and easy Italian dish. I use lots of garlic. Keep it simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
It's easy and quick to make. I used a tbs of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
My daughter does not like garlic, so I couldn't add the garlic to our pasta water. However, I followed the recipe as written and sprinkled garlic salt on mine after plated and it was fantastic. I think JCC's adaptation sounds good too so will probably try that next. Great, simple and fresh pasta recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
We did not care for this. Too bland. I guess we like a stronger tomato taste with our pasta. Will not do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States