Fresh Tomato Chili Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
this is the best,one change i did was added celery other then that is is very good the longer it sits the better it will get thks Diane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
red bell peppers should diced small, not 2 inch pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN LARSEN
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Exactly the recipe I was looking for! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This recipes sounds really good and I was thinking of making it, but how many cups/lbs of tomatoes is equal to the 35 tomatoes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is a sweet and spicy recipe. I like it but need ideas on how to use it in other recipes. I used 1/4 Tsp crushed red peppers because I didn't have any hot peppers. Plenty of heat for me. I basically cut the recipe in half and made it a bit healthier by using Stevia & Sea salt. Very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is the perfect receipe and just what I was looking for ...this summer, with my tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Harden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is a very good and simple sauce. Has a great taste and can be used as a base for lots of recipes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Thanks, exactly what I was looking for as I lost my Mom's recipe that I enjoyed when I was a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Just like Mom used to make! I'm a first time canner and this recipe was excellent-perfect sweet and spicy combination when recipe followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Just finished making the Chili Sauce. I had been looking for this for a few years and so happy to have found this one. I's sure the recipe is fabulous as is, but because I didn't have all ingredients this called for, I made a few substitutions. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used 10 reg. cans of diced tomatoes. I used 1/2 teas. ground cayenne pepper instead of the fresh chili peppers and added a couple of shakes of chili powder. Last but not least I only had 1 red bell pepper on hand so added green peppers. When almost ready to finish cooking I noticed that it wasn't as thick as I wanted so added 2 cans of tomato paste. I have it in the caner right now, but did a taste test before. It is delish!! Thanks so much Jan for this recipe. Next year I hope to make it from scratch. :) However, this was really easy. I ended up with 7 pints of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stanford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States