Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This is great, the only thing I did differently was add the fresh basil to the tomato mixture just before serving. Fresh basil looses its freshness if cooked a long period of time and the color remains bright green if added at the last minute. Minced fresh garlic also adds a wonderful taste. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Easy to make, but it definitely needs a lot more basil than called for (I doubled the amount), plus, go lighter on the oil, you don't need much to saute onions and garlic in, I used about 2 tbsp and it was just fine....let it simmer a good hour and a half and then added salt/pepper to taste. Served over whole wheat linguine - very good, just add more basil! you need to be able to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I have made this sauce three times now and each time it gets better. This is easy to make and a great way to use fresh tomatoes. I run mine through the food processor after cooking as my daughter likes the smooth texture better. I boil my tomatoes for two to three minutes, cool and peel. I don’t remove the seeds. Some have complained about the consistency. The juicier the tomatoes, the juicer the sauce. You could cut the tomatoes up, then drain them for awhile or add tomato paste for a thicker sauce. Everyone who has tried this has loved it. I use it to make chicken parmesan. Thank you Mindim for this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I only made a few minor changes starting with cutting the recipes down for only 3 lbs of tomatoes. I used herilooms and a dash of onion powder and NO onions. I hate onions. Everything else I left the same. It was a bit runny after simmering for a couple hours but I think it was partly because of how juicy my tomatoes were and the lack of onion. I don't like chunky sauce so I ran it through the blender for a few seconds just to break those up. This was my first attempt making sauce and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Great stuff! I added finely chopped green pepper just for fun. Pureed it at the end to make it smooth. I canned the batch (about 5 pints) for 35 minutes in a hot water bath. Looking forward to using it this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great taste, was a little watery for me even though I simmered it for over 2 hours. I would make it again. A great way to use up tomatoes. Will try to freeze portions for use later in the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I have used this recipe twice now and it is wonderful. I love the thickness of it once it is cooked for the two hours. I did however add some rosemary just to deepen the flavor of it. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I made this one using the tomatoes and basils from my garden. I couldn't wait and ate some after only 15 minutes of simmering all the ingredients and it was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was my first attempt at home-made tomato sauce. It was a great way to use some of the tomatoes from our garden. First of all, the smell in my house while making this sauce was divine! I didn't like the consistency of the sauce after the two hours of cooking. I took the sauce and pureed it in the blender, returned it to the pot and cooked for another hour. I also added red pepper for a bit of a kick. We liked the flavor of the sauce, although I think that next time I make it, I'll add some tomato paste to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Great way to use all those garden fresh tomatoes in the summer months. Seeding the tomatoes loses a lot of natural flavor, so I simply chopped the tomatoes and then added a 6-oz. can of tomato paste when I stirred together the tomatoes and veggies. This gave the sauce a great consistency and flavor. I also added a chopped green pepper to the onion and garlic for additional flavor and nutrition. My family likes pasta sauce with lots of herb flavor, so in addition to the basil and garlic, I added one heaping tablespoon of dried oregano and some thyme. To make a smoother sauce (for picky kids like mine), puree the cooked tomatoes and veggies before adding the tomato paste. This makes the perfect sauce to eat "as is" on pasta, to use as a pizza sauce, or to use as the base for meat-based Italian sauces. This is a great, basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States