Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is truely a great recipie. I added different spices for my family's taste. Will never buy sauce again...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this sauce in advance for a birthday dinner. When it was ready, I tasted it and it was good, but by the next day when I served it, the sauce had turned quite acidic and tangy, and I wished I had added more sugar before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Easy! I didn't have 8 lbs of tomatoes, so I made up the difference with green peppers, carrots and celery that were in the fridge. Threw it into the crock pot while I went off to do errands. The house smelt divine when I came home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
A lovely celebration of the flavor of ripe, fresh tomatoes, provided you make a couple of small changes. One word was most likely omitted in the ingredients: Tomatoes should also be PEELED. If not, the peels separate and just become tough little indigestible bits. Before starting, simply blanch the tomatoes in boiling water for 30 seconds, then shock in ice water. They'll slip out of their skins in a heartbeat this way. Then, seed and dice. This step represents a big sensory improvement. Alternatively, you can just quarter the unpeeled, unseeded tomatoes, cook as normal, then pass the whole thing through a food mill. This results in a completely smooth sauce. The food mill removes all the skins and seeds. If you want it chunky, however, you'll have to use the first procedure. Another exception I took to the recipe was that in order to retain as much of that burstingly, achingly fresh flavor that exclaims "summer,", only cook for 20-30 minutes at the barest simmer. Cooking for 2 hours will result in a major loss of the fresh taste and the bright red color. See accompanying picture for a the color and texture of what this looks like when quick-cooked. A feast for the eyes, as well as the palate. As basil loses much of its fresh flavor, color, and texture when cooked, be sure to sprinkle each serving with more right before serving. Those minor changes will result in a superior product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Unbelievably delicious. This is the most perfect recipe for home grown tomatoes and basil. I will never EVER use a jar of pasta sauce again during the summer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Collyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I scale down this recipe and make it very frequently now. When I make this recipe I always increase the basil and garlic. When I use this as a base for other sauces, I add lots of oregano and sometimes some dried basil and a touch of sugar. Fabulous with shrimp. Even better with added eggplant, zucchini, red pepper and chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I used this recipe with a ton of the tomatoes that came from my mom's garden. Worked well, but I did adjust some of the ingredients in the recipe. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This sauce was really runny and took a lot longer than the time listed. I followed the completely followed the directions. The flavor was fresh and light, but the consistency was more like a chunky soup. I'm not sure I will rush to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Great recipe! Very much worth the effort! Homemade pasta sauce can never compare to what you can find in the store! We find that this recipe is perfect to store for later and enjoy on a cold winter's night with spaghetti and grated parmesan. Make it when the tomatoes are at their pick at the very end of summer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Not impressed. This recipe made a very bland sauce. It was missing the carrot (which I added) needed to cut out the acidity of the tomato. It was still missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEED330

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States