Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I had some large funky looking tomatoes from our garden - way too many to eat! This recipe is easy and delicious. I did not peel or seed my tomatoes but did cut off some of the skin as I was dicing them to cook. I added about a T. of sugar when I seasoned and used my immersion blender to smooth it out some. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is an extremely easy recipe that yields a lot of product, but in my opinion very little flavor. I think maybe we need to add the basil in LATER? And probably a lot more basil for the amount of sauce we're making here. I was kind of bummed for the amount of work and time it took to complete - I've been to Italy and I love tomato & basil... I was really loooking forward to this, and let down flavorwise in the end :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trey's Mumma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This sauce is a hit I add sun dried tomatoes in a olive oil drained and use a stick blender to smooth it out. Use it on a variety of dishes ..great flavor with little work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Made this with half yellow pear tomatoes and was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I made this last night, and like some other reviewer's, I thought to myself that this recipe may be a bit bland, and I was tempted to throw in a can of tomato paste for thickener. Bt I'm glad I kept it organically fresh, with no additives or preservatives, because it tastes GREAT! What I did differently was, used 8 cloves of garlic instead of 3 and for thickening, I combined 1 1/2 tbls of flour, 1 tbls of cornstarch, 3 tbls of butter in a sauce pan & made a paste. I added the thickener in the last 30mins of cooking. No guilt, just fresh & natural ingredients ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I love to add cayenne pepper for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina de Faria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Fresh, easy and absolutely delicious just the way it is!!! Although I did not seed the tomatoes. So simple and so good for you no perservatives and unknown ingredients like the store varieites!! Thanks for submitting this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I think this tastes like Prego or something you'd get at Olive Garden... which isn't really a compliment to me because I can cook better than that. But it has real potential and is a great way to use up garden tomatoes. Sometimes simple is better, but this is just missing something. But it's not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My husband & I went a bit crazy with the tomato plants this year and suddenly we had about 15 tomatoes of varying sizes & varieties just sitting around waiting to rot. I decided to act quickly and make some fresh tomato sauce. I picked this recipe since we have loads of fresh basil in the garden as well. I worried this recipe was too simple and the end product would taste like watery raw tomatoes over pasta. I'm happy to report my worries were unfounded. This sauce turned out LOVELY -- so delicious. I sauteed half a softball sized sweet onion and five cloves of garlic in olive oil and added to the tomatoes in the pot (which I first blanched to remove skins, cored & then mashed with a potato masher). I added approx. 1/4 cup of chopped basil leaves plus salt & pepper & a few quick dashes of dried oregano. I can't get over how sweet this sauce is when I never added sugar! It has such a complex flavor with so few ingredients and so little effort that I cannot for the LIFE of me understand how the jarred sauces get it so wrong! This could be eaten as marinara sauce or tomato soup -- because honestly it would be fantastic either way. I did thicken it a bit with a mixture of about a tablespoon and a half of corn starch and some cool water whisked together, then added a bit at a time until the sauce was the desired thickness. This is a great recipe. I shall never fear an overabundance of tomatoes again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States