Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I really like this recipe but I did a few things a little differently - I sautéed the onions in oil while running the tomatoes through my blender - I kept the seeds and just roughly chopped the tomatoes before processing them. Once the onions were ready, I just poured the tomato puree on top, so that saved me from having to use one more pan. I added a small pinch of freshly cut basil to the sauce every 20 minutes or so, which I think helped me obtain a bright basil flavor. I added a few other dry seasonings for a little lift, like crushed red pepper flakes and garlic salt. Overall this is a great recipe, and its simplicity is what makes it so great. Using fresh tomatoes really does beat any other sauce I've made in the past. Love it! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Overall good and simple and a GREAT way to use up tomatoes in late summer. It ended up a little chunkier than we prefer (specifically my kids), but the flavor was great. Other than the chopping, the cooking itself was low maintenance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was great! we used fresh roma tomatoes which were super easy for de- seeding and also added in a couple fresh chilli peppers to spice it up! I look forward to continue to experiment with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very good. I used more basil a couple tablespoons more. Added about a tbls of Italian Seasoning. Increased to 8 serving and I had plenty to send home with Dad and a full container for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for marinara sauce to freeze in large quantities. I make a few minor changes to suit my family's tastes. I peel the tomatoes and add bay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this today - the only changes I made was in the prep of the tomatoes. I used fresh Roma tomatoes which I blanched, skinned and then "squished" by hand into small pieces. This sauce is flavorful and a great base for pasta dishes. Tonight we'll be enjoying it with meatballs and rotini :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This recipe is really delicious. Our family loves garlic so I tripled the # of cloves. Also, I only used @ 3 TBL of oil... not sure why you would want 1/2 cup? I didn't seed the tomatoes and found it very fluid toward at the end of 2 hours, a half a can of tomato paste firmed it up nicely. You could also use a roux to thicken for a more natural sauce. I will definitely make this sauce again; it is a fantastic way to use the influx of ripe tomatoes from the garden that all seem to come at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena Chafin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time, it turned out great! I will never buy store bought pasta sauce again. I made some minor changes on the recipe though like what the others suggested. I doubled the garlic quantity, added parsley and oregano. I also peeled my tomatoes but I didn't bother seeding them. At the end I use my hand blender to smooth it out. Me and my husband loved this recipe I might have to start learning to do canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I used my dad's garden tomatoes for this recipe - nothing like fresh, organic ingredients! I stuck to the recipe except for a few additions. I added Italian seasoning, oregano, and some leftover pesto in place of basil (pesto is a Northern Italian pasta sauce made with basil, garlic, and olive oil). I also only simmered it for about half an hour. The product was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I slivered the garlic very finely and cooked it in the olive oil prior to adding the tomatoes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa A. Sharples

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States