Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this today - the only changes I made was in the prep of the tomatoes. I used fresh Roma tomatoes which I blanched, skinned and then "squished" by hand into small pieces. This sauce is flavorful and a great base for pasta dishes. Tonight we'll be enjoying it with meatballs and rotini :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This recipe is really delicious. Our family loves garlic so I tripled the # of cloves. Also, I only used @ 3 TBL of oil... not sure why you would want 1/2 cup? I didn't seed the tomatoes and found it very fluid toward at the end of 2 hours, a half a can of tomato paste firmed it up nicely. You could also use a roux to thicken for a more natural sauce. I will definitely make this sauce again; it is a fantastic way to use the influx of ripe tomatoes from the garden that all seem to come at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena Chafin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time, it turned out great! I will never buy store bought pasta sauce again. I made some minor changes on the recipe though like what the others suggested. I doubled the garlic quantity, added parsley and oregano. I also peeled my tomatoes but I didn't bother seeding them. At the end I use my hand blender to smooth it out. Me and my husband loved this recipe I might have to start learning to do canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I used my dad's garden tomatoes for this recipe - nothing like fresh, organic ingredients! I stuck to the recipe except for a few additions. I added Italian seasoning, oregano, and some leftover pesto in place of basil (pesto is a Northern Italian pasta sauce made with basil, garlic, and olive oil). I also only simmered it for about half an hour. The product was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I slivered the garlic very finely and cooked it in the olive oil prior to adding the tomatoes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa A. Sharples

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was fantastic... I just wish that I would've waited to add the basil until the last 30 minutes of simmering. The smell and taste of the basil went away completely after simmering the whole time, but it smelled and tasted sooooo good before that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is what it is, a fresh tomato basil sauce. It's good, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Followed recipe exactly with fresh tomatoes from the garden,except used 5 garlic cloves, added oregano, pepper and a bay leaf. Simmered for 2 hours as per recipe, not sure why, as it cooked down much quicker and although sauce was very runny, it was very flavorful. I think I would add organic tomato paste to thicken it up. I added a lot of finely grated parmesan cheese and mixed it in my own plate, as I just felt something was missing. Used more parmesan than I normally would, but I think that was because of the thinness of the sauce. Overall, tasty, great way to use your tomatoes from garden, just tweak to your liking. I have leftovers and will be adding tomato paste and meatballs to tomorrow's portion. Almost 5 stars, just needs to be thicker and and more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I loved this recipe. I had my daughters go and pick every last tomato we had on the vine, since the temperatures are getting pretty cold now in Michigan. Fall is here. I had 3 large yellow tomatoes and 8 little red tomatoes, plus one small green pepper. so I boiled water dropped tomatoes in let them cook about 5 mins. or so. just so I could get the skins off, then dropped the tomatoes and that little green pepper in my Ninja blender with along with a fist full of fresh basil from my garden. In a deep fry pan, I dumped 1/2 cup of Xtra virgin olive oil, then added 1 large onion diced, 8 garlic cloves diced, and 1 easpoon of sugar, then sauteed them on med. heat until onions were kinda transparent. Then poured the tomato mixture from my blender in with and let cook 1 hour. Added salt, pepper and a touch of garlic powder at the end. Served over spaghetti and it was fresh, fabulous and incredibly delicious and easy. You must try it. Add any meat if you want,but it is beautiful and full flavored enough as is. Thank you for this fantastic recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharene-Iowa Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Made this one for the first time after trying two other tomato sauce recipes (that didn't turn out as well as I thought they would). This one is the winner! I'm not sure if I had three pounds of tomatoes, nor am I sure if it's supposed to weight 3 lbs after seeding them, but I had a bunch of them from my crop share (along with fresh basil) and wanted to get rid of them. I also made it using a slow cooker on low and left it over night. It smells absolutely divine and I can't wait to have it for dinner tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitemousie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States