Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I made this cake last night and it was DELICIOUS! Easy to make, very moist, light and flavorful. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I just made this for a fussy crowd & it was beyond a hit! I was very Leary about putting on so much strawberry gelatin and I'm not a marshmallow fan but I followed the recipe exactly anyway. It's a keeper! I also took a suggestion of cutting the cake in half for a layer cake and covering well with cool whip. I added halved strawberries on the top for decoration and it was beautiful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
this was an excellent and easy to make cake! I made one for valentines day and my husband and I ended up eating the whole thing ourselves....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raphiesmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zz827
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
We love this cake! I made this for my husbands picky eater cousin's birthday. We couldn't stop eating it. Everyone loved it!!! Even my husband who doesn't like to eat sweets. He said this is the best cake I've ever made =) I read the other reviews and followed a few of their suggestions. I only used 3 oz. package of the strawberry gelatin mix. After I crushed the fresh strawberries with a fork, I put it in a bowl, added a tablespoon of sugar and all of the 3 oz. gelatin mix. I let it sit while I made the cake mix. I used buttercake and it was delish! I also used parchment paper so I didn't have a problem transferring it on a serving tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zz827

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
We loved this cake! Just because you can never have too many strawberries, we added a few extra. Make sure to crush the strawberries well so the jello will mix! Also, we thought it would be fun to decorate the cake with frosting bags, and vanilla ice cream compliments the cake well! This cake is a great cake to make with your family and friends, because it is an easy cake to maintain, and it will always be fun to see the layers! All in all, super easy cake to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This is the only recipe I have ever rated on this site, but I just have to say that my family/friends LOVE this cake. It is SO easy, and SO good! I didn't change anything.... We like it hot out of the oven, or cold out of the fridge! Don't forget the whipped topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This recipe is fantastic!! I used fresh strawberries and crushed them in the pan with a slotted spoon so I'd have the juice. I used while cake mix with pudding in the mix. Put the batter together using the directions for lower cholesterol (1/2 egg substitute, 1/3 c. oil, and 1 1/2 c. water). All I can say is that EVERYONE is fighting over this cake it's so good!!!! Warm or cold!! Do yourself a favor and make this cake ASAP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimnLyss

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruther Glen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
A fun and great tasting recipe. I only used one small 3 oz. box of strawberry gelatin with fresh strawberries and this turned out very delicious and perfectly sweet. I was surprised that it flipped so easily out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I've made this cake about a half a dozen times. It's sooooo yummy. I wish I had enough people to feed to justify making it more often. The only caution I have is that it seems to take mine over an hour in the oven before it's done. My latest is in the oven now. I used strawberry cake mix for a Valentine's Day Special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casseopeia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kentfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
this cake is so good. it is very delicious, looks amazing, and is SO easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvbaking

Displaying results 81-90 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States