Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This cake was so easy to make and turned out absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klgd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
The recipe as is gets 3 stars because it seemed too sweet & messy flipping on the platter. I will try again though using a 3 oz package of jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is a GREAT cake made as is. Next time making it use blackberries with blackberry jello or my absolute favorite is raspberries with raspberry jello. Tonight I'm going to try fresh yellow peaches and peach jello. This cake never fails and it is quick, easy and amazingly good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! Have made it several times and it is always a hit! The one think I do is add a couple of teaspoons of brown sugar to the berries while I prep the cake and ever since the 2nd time I've used lemon cake mix...just like strawberry lemonade. :) I also have used different flavors of jello (whatever is on hand) and actually have used unflavored the last time and will again this time as I forgot to buy the jello. It will still be fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I've made this twice now this summer and everyone LOVES it! Thanks so much for sharing - no changes were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This was a great recipe! Grown-ups and kids alike love it. I made it with a combination of Strawberries and blueberries for a Memorial Day cake and today, I am making it for the 4th of July with blackberries and strawberries. My only complaint with the recipe is probably my own doing - the center of the cake didn't cook through very well, so when I make it today, I will do it in 2 round pans instead of the big 9x13. I am hoping that solves my issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Pumpkyn
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This cake is fun and easy to make and it is soooooo scrumptious! I was worried that it would stick to the pan, but I let it cool for the recommended 20 mins and it came out fine. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I just made this last night and brought in to work... Absolutely fantastic!! My coworkers devoured the whole cake in less than an hour! I used 3 cups total of strawberries and 1/2 cup more marshmallows based off of some other reviews here. Definitely will be put into my "favorites" cookbook! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Love this cake, have made it a few times now, I have Celiac and cannot tolerate gluten, so I used a gluten free yellow cake mix, turned out great, I also used 3oz of strawberry gelatin, and have added dry cook and serve pudding (I did not really notice a difference, but may add extra jell) last time I made it I forgot the marshmallows, so maybe the pudding was a good idea that time;-) ... anyway it was also great without the marshmallows, maybe a little more tartness, which I liked! Have one in the oven now with Raspberry pie filling and chocolate cake... we'll see LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was delicious! I used a bundt pan, so I cut back a bit on the gelatin mix and marshmallows (just eyeballed both). I chopped up a whole pkg. of strawberried and then lightly crushed them w/ my potato masher...worked perfectly! Great flavor and we didn't find it 'artificial' at all. Will def make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States