Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
UPDATE… I posted earlier that I had forgotten to sprinkle the jello, while Im sure it's better with the jello It's still VERY good without it! I only rated it a four since I did intact forget the Jello. oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Delicious when hot, but I didn't like it much once it was chilled, it became rubbery. Not sure I will refrigerate it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
just made this and it was awesome...had it warm with cool whip...to die for...yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is way too good to be so easy. I got tons of compliments from the ladies at the baby shower I took this too - new favorite / easy dessert recipe to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I want to try this recipe, but, it looks like a white cake mix was used... Can you use a Angel food cake mix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I love strawberries in everything, but this strawberry upside down cake was terrible. The strawberry part was like rubber with the jello in it and the cake was very heavy and didn't rise. I followed the recipe exactly and I think the amount of jello may be a mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This cake is incredible, and my guests LOVED it! I made a couple of adjustments. To the batter: I microwaved a 2 cup measuring cup full of chocolate chips with 1/4 cup water for a minute, stirred and then blended into the batter. I added 1 cup more marshmallows and baked the cake in a 10" X 2". It took about 1:5 minutes before the knife came out mostly clean, but I served it hot with a pile of whipped cream. Next time I'll try it with ice cream! The top (which becomes the bottom) was crunchy while the center was like chocolate lava cake- moist and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baxtersbistro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Awesome cake. I put cool whip on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Garrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I tried this recipe and was quite pleased! only thing I recommend is measure the berries after you mash them and I also added more marshmallows and more strawberries and another thing I did different was to use my own cake from scratch! I used the recipe for Classic yellow sheet cake from Americas Test Kitchen Baking Book, as I am not a big fan of Box cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Taste great and was very moist. Mine didn't turn out so pretty but I think that's because I didn't have a flat platter and didn't center it very well so it kind of crunched up. But who cares?!!! I wasn't entering it in an art competition. We gobbled it up so fast that no one would have known if it had looked pretty to begin with! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coopersville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States