Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was simple and DELISH! Not very attractive on it's own, but looks refreshing and appealing when individual slices are served on plate with generous spray of Redi Whip & fresh sliced strawberries. I subbed strawberry flavored marshmallows torn up into small chunks and used sugar free strawberry jello. Wonderful, moist cake that everyone ate and enjoyed. It was so good no one touched the chocolate covered strawberries I served with the cake...several people went back for seconds Wonderful cake for any time of year...thx parealtor313!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Seemed like a good idea. It just doesn't work. Not a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Krafft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jazgrl
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Was looking forward to making this when I discovered I didn't have yellow cake mix, but did have chocolate. Used that, adding chocolate pudding and some chocolate chips. Sliced up some frozen strawberries and sprinkled the jello mix over them as they thawed and it created a juicy strawberry slurry that oozed deliciously over the chocolate base after inversion. Yummm! I still want to try the original version too, but this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sam4taz
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This recipe is easy and delicious. I added homemade whipped cream and chocolate sauce for extra moisture.. loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I made this recipe with no problems. I used 1 whole carton (16oz) of strawberries and mashed them to make a little over 2 cups. I also arranged sliced strawberries on the bottom before adding the mashed strawberries so it could look pretty when I flipped it over (didn't really make a difference, oh well). First I placed the sliced strawberries and sprinkled it generously with the jello, then I poured the mashed strawberries and added the rest of the jello, 6oz does look like alot, but it was perfect. Then I let that sit and marinade while I made the cake mix. Not sure why I needed to add marshmallows but I used just 1 cup not 3. Overall, very good. Served it with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wafaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Orange, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This cake is a winner!!! I made it for my Thanksgiving dinner and at my jobs Christmas party, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Desir

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I have made this cake twice and it always turns out great. I use a white cake mix with just egg whites for a more contrasting look. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent L Fredo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
The jello made it too strong tasting. I lightly sprayed my glass pan and it did not stick at all. I would omit the jello completely and instead mix the strawberries with a strawberry glaze. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
why so much flipping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this more because I was intrigued by the marshmallows. It was surprisingly tasty but not nearly as delicious as I thought it would be. It was very good when I added vanilla ice cream and chocolate syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States