Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Says cook for 40 mins. I cooked for 20 and it was starting to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is a variation of the old Pillsbury Strawberry Shortcut Cake that has been around for over 30 years. The original was a made from scratch cake. It called for mixing two 10 oz. pkgs. frozen sliced strawberries with juice, thawed, with one 3-oz. pkg. jello in bowl. Let sit while you prepare cake. Then you put only 1 c. marshmallows (I used 2 c.) in bottom of well-greased 13x9 pan, mixed the cake, and poured it over the marshmallows. Finally, pour the strawberry mixture evenly over the cake batter. Bake about 40-50 minutes at 350°. It did not call for turning the cake out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I was disappointed with this recipe. I followed the instructions exactly. The strawberry topping with the marshmellos, jello and berries tasted like a cake with jam spread over the top. Definitely not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Amazingly Great Cake. This has become my standard, "go to" cake recipe for special events. Everyone clamours for it AND the recipe. The only changes I do is use two cartons of fresh rasperries and one carton of fresh blackberries. Definitely sprinkle the berries with sugar for one hour before mashing to bring out the juice!. I also use Rasperry jello in stead of strawberry. I cook it in a 10" springform pan for 50 (ish) minutes and visually and tastewise it is amazing everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Shelton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
it was nice and moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
It was edible and digestible, but this is one science experiment that I will not attempt again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
You CANT STOP EATING IT. Wow. It looked like a crazy fool mess when I was assembling it, I thought it would be a total loss. Boy was I wrong. Like a strawberry Twinkie only hot and fresh! Here are my modifications and they're spot on! I used Vanilla cake mix, I added an extra egg and a packet of vanilla pudding mix to the cake AND added white chocolate chips into the batter. I used strawberries with sugar on them but sliced them instead of mashing them and I also added pineapple rings! INSANITY!!!!! The taste!!!!!! When it came out of the oven I put more white chocolate chips on the top with some added chocolate sprinkles and then they all melted so I smeared them with a spoon and it formed a crusty solid chocolate topping. Yum. You HAVE to make it with the extra pudding in the cake mix. Also, it's a messy cake and if you're worried how it looks then don't flip it out of the pan. Do what I did and leave it in the pan and add the chocolate chips to the top because when they melt it looks awesome and like icing only better. We served it in the pan like that as a strawberry-pineapple bottomed cake and it was gone in less than a half hour and four people wanted the recipe from me. Sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn Thoma Guay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made this for Mother's Day and it was delicious! It had a very strong strawberry taste that was so yummy! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I am no baker and I made this cake today with stawberries we picked from a local farm. It was terrific but I made some changes and will make more in the future. 1. add more berries 2. use 1/2 flavored and 1/2 unflavored gellatin all strawberry is too sweet for me. 3. I will be adding some lemon zest and 2 minced basil leaves to the strawberry mixture for brightness and complexity. 4. Because i always have issues getting things out of the pan, I lined the bottom with parchment paper and it tipped out perfectly. This will probably ebcome my new go to for potlucks when I need to bring a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was good and easy, served with Cool Whip, warm. Husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States